We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always amazed by bad reviews” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mary Prentiss Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mary Prentiss Inn
Ranked #1 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always amazed by bad reviews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Mary Prentiss Inn is part of an organization that allows Veterans to stay for free on Veternan's Day.

We stayed here this year with another couple.

To me Cambridge and Boston are not areas in which you want to drive a lot.

Luckily we brought our bikes and on Sunday afternoon rode to the Mt Auburn Cemetery.

Sunday night we had reservations to see "Bloody, Bloody, Andrew Jackson" in Boston. One T station is about a 5 minute walk, but we walked to Harvard Square and took the T from there.

On Monday, we rode the bikes into Boston and visited the old African Meeting House.

I thought the accommodations were lovely. And it's close to Harvard Square and the T.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    64
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
91
110
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Extremely comfortable queen sized bed. I haven't slept so well in any other hotel. I actually stayed there twice... Most recently after a very long international journey. I truly appreciated the very soft, clean towels and bedding. Aesthetically it ranks near the top of what is available in that region of the U.S. -- I have stayed in a few other Cambridge B&Bs and some in RI and Maine... This one is in a slightly more urban setting, but completely up to the top standard. Beautifully maintained hardwood floors and carpets. Immaculately furnished. Warm, caring, open-minded & tactful staff... Happily discovered upon check in that tea and cookies were waiting in the entry area... Lavish, excellently prepared breakfasts-- abundant and filled with flavor. Quiet room, up some stairs. Perfect for a quick, cozy, romantic getaway-- and especially ideal for pampering while traveling on business (as I was). Conveniently located-- walkable to excellent shopping, local parks, restaurants to suit every budget and taste, live entertainment. Ideally placed on a side street about 20 minutes either way between two prime subway stops (Porter & Harvard). Highly recommend this B&B with utmost enthusiasm, and I plan to return!

Room Tip: reserve early if you can, but not always necessary if you are willing to take a room in their annex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and felt at home immediately. Very cosy, warm and special. The breakfast is delicious! I had French toast one day and porridge on other days. Maybe not good for diet times, but who cares :-)  It was made with care and tasted really good. In terms of location: The T station Porter is only 10 minutes away, you can walk to Harvard square in 15 minutes. There are a few really cool/individual shops close by and a starbucks across the road.  I usually stay at The Kendall Hotel and this is very similar. I can recommend both places.
 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liesbeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This B&B is in appearance even nicer than the pictures and the staff could not have been more helpful. Afternoon tea is a must and the Pumpkin Spice coffee outstanding. Very very comfortable. My only small quibble would be about the Glenn Miller music played at breakfast - not for us however I'm sure others think it is marvellous

Room Tip: I don't think there is a lift so for us a ground floor room was ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoydeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesburg, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Travelers should look elswhere in Cambridge for lodgings. If you have a full-sized vehicle you will find parking very difficult in their cramped garage. Garage floor is unpaved, space is dimly lit and tight corners have abutments below stone walls out of drivers' view. Caution signs are not posted for navigating the cramped space in the garage. Our car was damaged as we were exiting the garage because of these issues. Management/owner failed to accept responsibility even though we were not forewarned about the poor parking conditions on their property prior to our stay. Staff on duty when we arrived during the afternoon was not knowledgeable about the area. Internet not available in our room but we had been told when we booked that it was available in all rooms. Inn is shabby and needs renovation. Grey hair in bathroom mirror frame from a previous occupant. Toilet was not working when we arrived. We will look elsewhere for lodgings on our next visit to Cambridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 month in July for the second consecutive year. And I would not consider staying anywhere else in Cambridge. Everything is wonderful. I love the garden. Highly recommended. Staff are the greatest asset.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cervo, Italia
Level Contributor
559 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

You enter the quaint front and are plunged in the suave atmosphere of past centuries. Everything here speaks of history, from the creaky floorboards to the authentic period furniture, the pictures on the walls, the rich carpets. However everything is in an immaculate state of repair and modern technology, albeit unobtrusive, makes your stay very greeable. Breakfast is served in the conservatory, amid greenery and blossoms, and it sets the pace for your day in a very pleasant way, with home-made conserves, fresh fruits or fully cooked breakfast. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.3 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#12 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
2.2 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mary Prentiss Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mary Prentiss Inn

Property: Mary Prentiss Inn
Address: 6 Prentiss Street, Cambridge, MA 02140
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mary Prentiss Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mary Prentiss Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mary Prentiss Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing