We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homey place in Cambridge”
Review of Harding House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harding House
Ranked #3 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great homey place in Cambridge”
Reviewed February 25, 2009

Lovely place to stay in Cambridge. So much nicer than a hotel. Great value with a good breakfast and friendly staff. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    43
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
31
17
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

I stayed here in December for a few days and enjoyed my stay. It was very quiet and charming. The breakfast was good although they did not serve a hot breakfast which was disappointing. The selection of muffins and such was great, however. The coffee was okay, not hot but they have a microwave nearby. The staff was very friendly although I did find that they were unfamiliar with the area. I was steered in the wrong direction a few times but I eventually found what I was looking for. Asking about the city of Boston got me nowhere but they have a computer to use so I could find what I needed. The rooms were very nice and clean. There was no conditioner for my hair and the shampoo was pretty inferior so bring your own products. As far as B&Bs go, this was a nice one and I could suggest only minor improvements to make it better. I also stayed in Brookline at the Beech Tree B&B---now that was a treat! The location of Harding House is a bit better (close to Harvard square) but Beech Tree is another great one.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfnative_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, February 10, 2009
Thanks for the positive review. We noticed that we ranked high among your other TripAdvisor reviews. Impressing discerning travelers like you earned us the 2008 International Hotel & Restaurant Association “Endless Amenities Award” for our hot breakfasts, high-quality amenities and outstanding service. Our prices are similar to all of the other hotels and B&Bs in the area, but Cambridge can be expensive. We feel that value is very important, and we would have been more than happy to help you take better advantage of our amenities.

Every day there’s a different home-cooked entrée on our breakfast buffet; things like egg & cheese popovers, cherry stuffed French toast, vegetable quiche, and waffles with fresh berries. Our offerings are extensive, high quality and all you can eat, which is rare in the B&B world. There are so many options that sometimes people don’t notice them all. A sign right next to our 24 hour coffee urn says we’ll also make a fresh pot, piping hot in minutes at your request. As a green hotel, we’ve replaced mini-travel amenities with full-sized dispensers of Neutrogena shampoo, lotion and shower gel. Not only does this reduce plastic packaging, it gives guests the luxury of using as much as they need. A sign in the bathroom notes that conditioner, bar soap, etc. are available on request. All you have to do is ask. Many people really like Neutrogena shampoo. We’re truly sorry it didn’t suit your tastes.

Several of our staff members have expertise in area tourism. One worked for several years at Boston’s Historical Society, another writes our Cambridge Blog and events calendar, which features local restaurants, sights, entertainment and shopping. All of our staff are trained to give basic directions, but Boston can be a very tricky town to navigate even for natives. As the manager, I am here to answer questions for those who need special assistance. You mentioned the Beech Tree Inn, which seems to be another delightful place, rated the #1 B&B in Boston just as Harding House is #1 in the Cambridge, Harvard, & MIT area. Looks like you chose the best two spots in town. We hope you'll be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

I travelled a long way from Buenos Aires, Argentina. It was a very cold night when I arrived, and to my surprised the apartment was shiny, a great coffee selection was waiting for me and the entire place smelled like home.
Special thanks to the house manager, Lauren and the rest of the staff. Charming people, really.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank uy_gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, manager at Harding House, responded to this review, February 6, 2009
Dear Floroca,
Thank you for leaving such a nice review of Harding House. We are so glad that our new long-term stay apartment provided you with all the comforts of home. It was truly a delight to have you spend the month with us. Many of our staff members have read your review and remember how much they enjoyed having you here. The positive comments you left will help other travelers find us and feel confident that they are choosing a wonderful place to stay. We hope your travel plans will bring you back to our house again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We were travelling around Canada and arrived in Boston early, and were so lucky to get a room for 4 people at Harding House at the last minute.

The moment we entered the doors, it felt like home, only that there was a cheerful receptionist who made us feel welcome immediately. We found the living area well stocked with reading material and a computer with free internet connection. Next door in the dining area were fruits and snacks, as well as tea and coffee. The same lady offered us wine and cheese before dinner and we took up that offer, and found that it also came with more fruits!

The rooms itself were comfortable and clean only that the climb up the main stairs might not be for everyone (our room was on the top floor) as it's a little steep. No fear though, there are another set of stairs at the back that are easier to climb.

The location was good, being a block away from the subway.

The staff made all the difference in making our holiday such a relaxing and enjoyable stay by being so nice and helpful, with an ever ready smile and willingness to help us.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GPunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My daughter and I found the room to be very cosy. The staff were wonderful and looked after us very well. We would recommend Harding House to any one stay in the Boston or Cambridge area .

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dgreggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2008

Ignore the two bad reviews! first of all, this is a lovely Cambridge neighborhood, at least if you are walking towards Harvard Square, or up to Inman Square (I gather it is a little dicier if you walk towards Kendall Square on Cambridge St.), and both Central Square and Inman Square have great neighborhood restaurants and bars. The accommodations are charming -- I loved the decor and the appointments in the rooms (and the art in the common areas comes from a local, highly-regarded collective). The selection of breakfast foods was very nice, and I liked the fact that they served breakfast until 10 AM (I've been to several B&B's where they want you at breakfast promptly at 8:30 AM). Two caveats:

1. If you have any physical difficulties with stair climbing, you want to make sure your room is not on the top floor. It was OK for us, but the stairs are very steep!

2. It would be nice if the "special" breakfast entree actually was available through 10 AM (they ran out of the special item three of the five days we were there, when we came down for breakfast after 9:30).

Otherwise, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the location was great!

  • Liked — Location and convenience
  • Disliked — A very high two flights of stairs to the third floor!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingFiends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SapphireBoston, manager at Harding House, responded to this review, May 20, 2008
Dear Traveling Fiends,

Thank you so much for your glowing review of Harding House. We have been working hard under new management to impress savvy travelers like you, and the compliments mean the world to us. We are also very grateful for your suggestions and critiques. Please rest assured that guests are free to choose their preferred floor when making reservations. We make sure that no guest has to climb stairs if it's difficult for them. We also have staff on-hand to help with heavy bags.

Latecomers to breakfast are always welcome to request a fresh specialty entree if we've run out. We will gladly prepare something just for you - even after 10:00 when our breakfast has ended. Guests have been devouring our egg popovers, quiches and stuffed french toast, so we know we're doing something right. But, we have only recently begun offering a specialty entree on our breakfast buffet, and your feedback will help us perfect this new addition to our amenities.

As for our neighborhood, we appreciate your redeeming this lovely, historic section of mid-Cambridge. It is indeed a wonderful community. Harvard, Central and Inman Squares are safe and bustling with vibrant activity. And you're right, as in any major city, there are pockets of Cambridge further out toward a more industrial section of town, that are not part of our neighborhood, and we recommend avoiding them. We offer detailed directions to guests who plan to do a lot of walking and we always share this information with them. But there really is no need to encounter these areas because all the restaurants, shopping, nightlife and sights are right in our neighborhood - or in nearby areas that are also perfectly safe.

We hope to see you and feed you again on a future visit to Harding House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbelt, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2008

This is a wonderful bed and breakfast. Harding House combines the best of both worlds: a staffed reception desk as in a small hotel with a B&B-style casual dining area for breakfast and afternoon snacks. Our room and bath were modern-comfortable while the dining and living rooms were retro-comfortable (1950s overstuffed couch and chairs, etc.) The Harding House is close to Boston's mass transit system, and is a 15 minute walk to Harvard Square and Central Square. An organic market and excellent coffee houses are nearby, and guests can use the Harding House's microwave to warm-up food. We were able to take advantage of Harding House's guest passes to Harvard's museums. There is a parking lot if you are traveling by car (we came by train), and a computer in the living room for checking email and printing boarding passes. We are looking forward to our next trip to Cambridge so that we can stay at the Harding House.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank MassTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
497 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#14 of 20 in Cambridge
735 reviews
2.3 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
791 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding House

Property: Harding House
Address: 288 Harvard Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harding House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Geographic Traveler magazine calls Harding House "A charming, spacious and bright place in a great neighborhood, filled with nice people." Located minutes from Harvard and MIT Universities and downtown Boston, we offer classic comfort, a hearty breakfast, and unparalleled service, all in an atmosphere that feels like home. Enjoy complimentary wireless, parking, museum passes, and wine & cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harding House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing