We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort and warmth with great healthy breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harding House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harding House
Ranked #4 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Comfort and warmth with great healthy breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This was a return visit to Harding House for me, and their records got me the same comfortable room with big windows on the side, so no traffic noise. Their attentive reception is always welcoming and helpful, and access to tea and coffee all day plus their great healthy breakfasts - on a self-serve basis - makes all the difference for a great stay. There were traces of snow at the beginning of February, and it was very cold outside, but Harding House was warm and cosy. It is only a short walk to bus and metro routes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
40
29
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Check in was efficient. Reception staff at all times helpful and friendly. Room was comfortable but a little noisy on the ground floor. Bathroom and room clean. Breakfast very nice but not particularly special. Morning staff not very welcoming. For single $270 a night I feel it is inappropriate to expect guests to clear the table.Also advertised was cheese and wine in the evening. I saw no evidence of this and was not offered this service. Perhaps it is no longer on offer? Harding House fails to offer an intimate level of customer service and I would probably not return again.

Room Tip: do not stay on ground floor. rooms too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingHarding, General Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that you did not find Harding House to be a good value. October is a beautiful time of year to visit New England. The mild weather and changing leaves bring guests from all over. In Cambridge particularly the students have all returned to school and not only are parents coming to visit, but all sorts of harvest festivals are happening in addition to the Head of the Charles Regatta. Needless to say all the hotels and guests houses are very busy in the area and rates reflect that. We find that our rates are competitive for this time of year, we always include all our amenities, and do our best to offer a clean and comfortable place to return to after a day sightseeing, working or researching.

We do have a wine and cheese hour for any interested guests on Thursday evening however we are happy to put a small plate together on request as well. It sounds like you enjoyed breakfast overall, however if the staff was not welcoming I apologize and appreciate your feedback. I do encourage offering coffee warmers and clearing the tables when possible however with such a small kitchen most mornings only one staff member covers all tasks of the breakfast shift.

Lastly, your room that was "too noisy". We are conveniently located within walking distance of 3 city squares and public transportation however that proximity also can mean close to the traffic of the city. When possible we move guests upstairs or to the rear of the house.

If your travels bring you to Cambridge in the future, I hope that you will try us again and let us know you would like a "quiet room". We do drop or rates in the winter and also have smaller rooms that share a bath in the hall for guests who would like a more "economical" option.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Cute, reasonably priced place to stay within easy walking distance of Harvard. Our group stayed in two of the larger rooms that slept four. The free breakfast was a nice bonus. We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PlanoTexasMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Great place, location, value, and experience. Rare B&B that fit family of 4. Stayed in the lovely 3rd floor room with 3 comfortable beds. Staff super helpful during our stay. More fun & enriching than a hotel stay. Easy 6 min walk to T station on main avenue in Cambridge. Short ride into the city. 15 minute walk to Harvard. Very good breakfast with healthy and tasty variety- a hot baked item, fresh fruit, bread, bagels, many jams, yogurt. Coffee could be better but not bad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSredRidingHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The rooms and building were clean and well taken care of. The staff was nice and generally helpful. Breakfast was average. I don't know that it's worth $200 plus a nice, but I guess it comes with the neighborhood.

Room Tip: It's true they don't have an elevator, but it's only three floors and really isn't a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edvedder25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingHarding, General Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your simple concise feedback.
We do our best to provide friendly, clean, and comfortable accommodations. The fact that we are so close to both Harvard and MIT as well as the convenience to downtown Boston and historic tours makes us perfect for many travelers. I know that $200 a night seems high compared to some areas, however when you add in the value of free wifi and parking, and snacks all afternoon we come in matching or better than comparable accommodations in this area.

I hope you will come stay again if your travels bring you to this area in the future. And keep in mind our rates are based on occupancy so you will find lower rates during our quieter winter months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife, our 21 year old son, and myself stayed at Harding House for 6 nights in room 31 on the third floor. Room 31 is a family room with a queen and 2 twin beds. The third floor stays very warm from the rising heat of the house, so the window air conditioner has to be run, even on cooler days. The difficulty is that the air conditioner is about 4 feet from the bed and blows on you all night.

Harding House has a relaxing atmosphere in a neighborhood. It is situated on Harvard Ln. between Central and Harvard Squares, both are an easy walking distance.

They could do better maintenance. At 1am a smoke alarm started beeping in another room. The fire department had to come in and remove it. With all the commotion, it took until 2am to get back to sleep. Bad enough, but the same thing happened the next night in another room. This time they were able to resolve it quicker. Those things happen, but my complaint is that they should have replaced all batteries the next day when one went out. No apologies or adjustments offered.

Also, they oversell the breakfast. All the baked items are cold from refrigeration and require heating in the microwave. There is only one home made item per day and it is not kept hot either. A cake is supplied during the day, but it is also not fresh and has been refrigerated. The breakfast is adequate with plenty of coffee, fresh fruits, cereal and yogurt.

Would I stay there again? Yes, for Cambridge, the price is reasonable. It has a comfortable and homey atmosphere with conversation in the breakfast room with other guests.

Room Tip: The third floor is warm, but does not have guests above. Also, stairs are very steep and require ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EZGoing888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagingHarding, General Manager at Harding House, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for ways to improve and I find that that best way to do that is directly from our guests.

I was well aware of the smoke detector going off and we are all very sorry that it disturbed your sleep. It was a faulty alarm but for the safety of all the guests it seemed prudent to have the Fire Department double check. Following that first night our maintenance guys did go to every room that was unoccupied to check and replace batteries. Generally we do not like to disturb a guest who has already checked unless it is a pressing maintenance issue. In hindsight it would have been better to disturb a guest at 12 noon than 12 midnight. Again we are very sorry about that. The guests who were staying in those rooms were compensated and had I known how far the disruption had traveled I am sure we could have done something for you well. It is always easier to deal with this type of thing at the time of the visit instead after the fact.

As for the AC unit, I do understand that the situation is not ideal. This is a big old house full of charm and character along with the squeaks and heat. We do our best to get the AC units running before you arrive and can always offer a fan if the circulation is still not enough. You never can tell where one guest likes the room at 62 degrees and another would rather have the fresh air and no AC at all.

Breakfast is ever evolving. I appreciate that you have told me that you were unimpressed as this is something that I have asked a staff member recently to help make every guests breakfast experience the best we can make it. That being said we have limits without a full kitchen. We are woking on improving favorite recipes, testing new ones and ideas to offer more items without wasting food.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again as we are ever changing...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

A lovely bed and breakfast in an old blue building that dates back to the 19th century. It has been tastefully refurbished, while maintaining the period touch. Expect a decent breakfast (cereals, eggs, bread, hot tea and coffee). You can actually have tea or coffee and light snacks through the day. It's a 15-minute walk to Harvard Square and just minutes from the T station. The staff are helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable and had an attached bath. We had an evening flight out, but we could keep our luggage in the B&B and stroll around Harvard and leave in the evening. Definitely a place I would like to stay again.

Room Tip: The family rooms are spacious and can easily accommodate a family of 4. They have a queen bed and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saurabh0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding House

Property: Harding House
Address: 288 Harvard Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harding House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Geographic Traveler magazine calls Harding House "A charming, spacious and bright place in a great neighborhood, filled with nice people." Located minutes from Harvard and MIT Universities and downtown Boston, we offer classic comfort, a hearty breakfast, and unparalleled service, all in an atmosphere that feels like home. Enjoy complimentary wireless, parking, museum passes, and wine & cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harding House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing