We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harding House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harding House
Ranked #4 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“A lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband, son and I recently stayed at Harding House and really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, the bed comfortable and welcoming and the location was great (less than a mile from Harvard Square)

We loved this visit and we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60859Ecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    10
    6
    0
See reviews for
40
29
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
204 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

i agree with everything that has been written on the other reviews. the place is charming and cosy. i'd like to add that i saw 3 rooms and they were all big and comfortable. my bathroom was very comfortable, well lit and there was even a night lamp in case you get up in the middle of the night and need to find your way around, there was also a hair drier. i can't think of anything you find in a hotel that i didn't find there. well, hospitality abounds in this place! all the girls in the reception were super nice, helpful and friendly. the location is perfect and the neighboorhood very pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilena57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family of 4 stayed in the family room unit, which had 1 queen bed and 2 twins, in July 2012. This was perfect for our tall sons and a very difficult arrangement to find in all of Boston!

The location was ideal as we were within comfortable walking distance to many restaurants, Harvard, and the T (subway). We bought a weekly pass and had unlimited T and bus access which we used to quickly hop from the Freedom Trail to Fenway to Cambridge etc. Excellent location!

We found the beds comfortable and the breakfasts quite nice. There was always a breakfast "entree" like raspberry cream cheese stuffed french toast in addition to yogurts, fruit, bread/bagels for toasting, granola and other cereal, juice, milk, coffee, tea etc.

It is an old home so the only downsides to this B&B is a small dining area (when the inn is full there aren't enough tables) and small bathrooms (little room for toiletries). This was not a significant detraction for our family.

The staff was friendly and polite and loaned us 4 umbrellas one rainy night/day. What a nice touch!

I would recommend this B&B and would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you're unsure about which room is best for you, call the B&B. They are very helpful and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just off Mass Ave, so easy walking to both Harvard Square and Central Sq. Good breakfasts and quiet, comfortable room. The staff gave us excellent advice to get around on the T to Boston, and even provided us with a member pass to the Museum of Fine Arts.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We arrived in Cambridge and due to an error in our booking at a hotel we had no accomodation. Harding House on Harvard Street came to our rescue in the midst of 2 huge conferences in Cambridge, they were able to take us in for the night. We then transferred to their sister guesthouse Irving House - just down the road.
Friendly, efficient, clean and helpful.
The cultural difference between South Africa and here was disconcerting at first but we soon realized that people weren't being rude they just didn't want to waste time even if they aren't doing anything.
It's a lovely spot, quaint and worth it for a short stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ThabangSkwambane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond-by-the-Sea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is what bed and breakfasts should be. The staff doesn't know the word "no" every request was granted and our comfort was their top priority during our 4 day stay. What a welcome change. It is located in a beautiful residential area just a couple of blocks from Mass Ave. making it convenient to buses and the T but out of the downtown area providing a quiet evening. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfy. Gourmet breakfasts were served daily, yes we repeated the French Toast once but it was so delicious we didn't mind at all. The wine and cheese was very informal and relaxing and we closed out our stay with a bottle of wine in our room. Extras include mailing postcards ANYWHERE in the world, free membership card to use to go to the MFA and other museums, a discounted pass to a local gym and so much more. I didn't hear anything from the other rooms and everyone that stayed there seemed most pleasant. The prices were better than anywhere else in town and I can't imagine better service. We have stayed in many wonderful bed and breakfasts but this one is the best hands down. Thank you so much to the staff. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: The rooms seemed all well positioned to offer optimum privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacqueE53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Level Contributor
285 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed here with the entire family when rounding off our tour of new England. I had tried to find affordable accommodation in central Boston, but if you come with two kids and a car to park, you're almost ripped off. You're most likely not able to find inexpensive accommodation in Boston (unless you're game for more seedy places), but Harding House comes pretty close.
Luckily I relied on my fellow tripadvisors and went for this great B&B.
First of all parking is free - but beware that you cannot always be sure to get a place at the grounds of the B&B - sometimes you'll have to go for a place on the road.
Our room was not big, but could easily hold the four of us (the suitcases could go under the beds), the bathroom is best explained as small - but functional and with all necessary amenities - and as the rest of the room - spotlessly clean. We got a room on the top floor, and beware - the stairs are steep and narrow.
The wifi is free - and works great, which was really good compared to wifi in many hotels - which boasts of being free but is a royal pain due to elaborate login-procedures, which have to repeated endlessly.
We actually met some fellow Danes in the B&B, and we enjoyed a complimentary glass of wine and some cheese together with them (a really nice touch) when we returned soaking wet from the Aquarium (a standard Boston torrential fall shower caught us).
The breakfast is fine with a fairly good selection, but everybody reading this - please heed my advise and sit in the lounge room after finishing your breakfast - there is not sufficient places to linger all morning at the tables. We were there during the Regatta period, and so were obviously a lot of rowing people (or fans) - strategy meetings and pondering on the scores from previous days can be made other places.
The area around Harding House is very safe and quiet at night. The metro is only a 5 minutes walk away and the central campus of Harvard only 15 minutes away by foot.
For supplies, there's a fine Whole Foods supermarket 5 minutes away, and a little further there are lots of shops, including a liquor store for stocking further up.
The breakfast room can be used for enjoying take-away (try Whole Foods) in the evenings.
All in all Harding House was a most pleasant experience, which I have used every opportunity to promote ever since.

Room Tip: Lower floors - if you have a lot of luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarsDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.9 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Harvard Square Hotel
Harvard Square Hotel
#9 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,841 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Commander Hotel
Sheraton Commander Hotel
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harding House

Property: Harding House
Address: 288 Harvard Street, Cambridge, MA 02139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Harding House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
National Geographic Traveler magazine calls Harding House "A charming, spacious and bright place in a great neighborhood, filled with nice people." Located minutes from Harvard and MIT Universities and downtown Boston, we offer classic comfort, a hearty breakfast, and unparalleled service, all in an atmosphere that feels like home. Enjoy complimentary wireless, parking, museum passes, and wine & cheese. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harding House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing