We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay at a Very Nice Place”
Review of Freepoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Freepoint Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at a Very Nice Place”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel is not your average Best Western...the rooms are extremely clean and spacious. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the complimentary breakfast had everything you could want. I have stayed at a lot of Best Westerns and this is by far the nicest one. And it is only about a 5 minute walk to the Alewife T-Stop.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Muppet994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    296
    150
    49
    34
See reviews for
312
148
50
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Totally enjoyed my experience at this hotel. Convenient to the Red Line transit system. Free shuttle to the Red Line station. Free breakfast was good with a wide selection. Will stay here again. Why is there a 200 character minimum for review?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Not a single complaint about this hotel: everything was perfect from check-in to check-out. When he found out that we were staying there for our wedding, the manager immediately moved us away from a block of rooms filled with high school kids to a quieter room that had been recently renovated. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Everyone on the staff was extremely friendly, to the point that many of the front desk staff would greet us and congratulate us on our upcoming event. They really went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

The complimentary breakfast is very nice - a full, hot breakfast with many options. Coffee is available all day. The hotel bar/restaurant was a nice place to relax after a very long day of trekking around Boston. The location of the hotel is just a few minutes' walk to the T, which makes it very handy for getting into and around Boston without needing to drive in. (The hotel does offer a shuttle, which was easy to reserve, but it's just as easy to head out and walk the eight or so minutes over to the station.)

Without a doubt, when we return to Boston, this is where we'll be staying.

Green Features: Recycling bins were in the room, and the hotel offers the option to reuse towels and linens.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chpk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

Best Western has a gem with this one! Place is newer than most and is great ! Very clean , everything worked, staff very nice! Breakfast has a surprising selection of choices! Fresh fruit, yogurt , pancake maker, choice of breads , eggs , sausage , juices, coffee, tea. Only disappointments with breakfast : not enough room for all guests to dine without feeling rushed , sausage was subpar , and there were a few pesky flies buzzing around . Otherwise, quite a nice surprise. Slept great , beds awesome, even sofa-bed ! Bathroom big! Will stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayeayepatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade Lakes, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Tria is well priced for Cambridge, and the location is quite good; we've stayed here 3 times. On this stay, we made several requests about type-of-room and location so ended up in one of the "non-renovated" rooms. In the future, I will probably choose a renovated one, if possible.
The non-renovated room was as spruced up as possible without a complete renovation: nice mattresses, sheets, towels, flat-screen TV. However, the bathroom was quite dated; also, the AC/heater was older, 'though still working OK.
The breakfast was quite good for free, hotel fare: self-service scrambles, sausage, home-fries, OJ, waffles, muffins, etc. etc.
There was quite a bit of noise from the hallways (even at 11:30 PM), but at breakfast we saw *loads* of pre-college kids, so that probably explains the noise.
On the plus side, there is free, easy parking. Also, the front-desk staff are extremely helpful and nice.
Overall, I would stay here again when in Cambridge, 'though it's certainly not a *destination* hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. If you are sensitive to noise, ask for a room away from the traffic circl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inkmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My family had visitors from out of the States, and we decided last minute to go on a trip to Boston. Boston hotels were outrageously expensive so I looked in Cambridge and found Tria. The price was great and the proximity to Boston made it convenient so we went with it. I booked with American Express (a third party) on Thursday for a reservation for Saturday. We had 7 people in our party, so I requested two double rooms, but when we arrived we received one double room and one room with a king-size bed. When I spoke to the front desk staff, they said that if I wanted I could pay an additional fee for a roll-in bed. As the mistake was theirs and not mine, I refused to pay the fee, but eventually they waived it and gave us the roll-in bed with no charge.
On the bright side, the breakfast was awesome. rooms were also very clean, and the location is not bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Venice, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stay at the Tria weekly (and have done so for many years) for business purposes. Staff is always friendly and service oriented. For the area, it is a well priced hotel and convenient enough to T and Harvard Square area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank William E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#10 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.9 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freepoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freepoint Hotel

Property: Freepoint Hotel
Address: 220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138-1102 (Formerly Hotel Tria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Freepoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Freepoint Hotel, you will enjoy newly renovated and smartly designed guestrooms with deluxe amenities such as super-fast complimentary Wi-Fi and hair products by Living Proof, an innovative local company. You will also have access to our brand new, well-equipped fitness room as well as access to our daily shuttle which will take you anywhere in a two-mile radius. Affordable parking is also available on site. Lastly, be sure visit Chef Matthew Gaudet’s much anticipated return to the Greater Boston dining scene at Freepoint Kitchen & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freepoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tria
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing