We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but no pool”
Review of Freepoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Freepoint Hotel
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
laval, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice place but no pool”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Expensive for this kind of hotel whitout swimming pool. Breakfast was good but not enough fresh fruits. Location is OK but Boston is a big city and lot of traffic. Many restaurants and accomodations arround this area. Also it's near Harvard university. Near HWY 95

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    297
    151
    50
    34
See reviews for
315
148
50
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I should probably asterisk the 5 rating I gave for service bec. of only one staff member, Andrew. We arrived at Logan Airport through a red-eye flight and we weren't able to get any sleep so we called hotel to see if we could check-in early, the person who answered the phone immediately said no. We went there early anyway, probably around 930am and I think the same guy was at front desk and he said there were no rooms ready yet. But Andrew, the other person there said he will check and lo and behold, he got us a room. The other guy who had a frown all this time said to Andrew that there were no rollaway beds available even though we haven't requested it yet but there were 4 of us, me, wife, a 13 yr old and a 3 yr. old. Anyways, Andrew called up our room a few moments later to tell us he would be sending us a rollaway bed. He deserves an A+ for service and without him, I wouldn't have anything good to say about this hotel, it is frequently loud in the hallways until around 130am bec. Of college kids partying . . . I saw somebody passed out in the hallway at around 2am! We stayed 2 nights and it was like that for both nights even if it was a weekday! My wife also did not like the bathroom as ut seems to be dirty and in need of renovation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandman8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were traveling with our two adult children and two toddler grandchildren. We wanted a place that included breakfast, that was easy to travel to Boston and that was economical. Room fee included breakfast and parking. Excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

An excellent hotel for business or pleasure with easy driving access into Boston ansd at a great rate.. Firm mattresses give a great night's sleep. High protein breakfast at no charge Upper end chain restaurants and movie theater within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Me and my cousin booked a day to stay. For my surprise the hotel doesn't look like the way pictures are available on internet. It says that is a new hotel! It is not.
We booked a double bed room no smoke one,and the attendant made me sign a paper where says we weren't a smokers. Guess what? The room was a stink smoker bedroom with a king size bed! Shame on you Best Western! Next time, I will make sure to not book with this chain of hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beteny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently stayed there while visiting MIT, Harvard and the Freedom Trail. The hotel was in a convenient location and we even walked to the red line (Alewife). The free breakfast was a delicious full breakfast.. not continental. We especially appreciated the free parking which is hard to find.

Room Tip: very well-insulated walls...the room was very quiet even though we were right next to the elevator a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bookfan92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

These guys gave Fawlty Towers a run for their money. We had a reservation for a non-smoking room with two beds for a family stay. We arrived late in the evening from the airport. The desk clerk signed us in and gave us a key. We went to the assigned room and it had one bed (for a family !!). We returned to the desk and told the clerk this was not what we reserved and it was unacceptable. He then got by degrees more and more furious that we were, I don't know, challenging his judgment. He stated that the hotel was not responsible for respecting bookings made through third parties (Trip Advisor, by the way). There were no other rooms. Fine, they had overbooked and John Cleese was clueless that he was there to help the client. A manager then arrived and finally straightened out this mess by sending us to another hotel at their expense, while apologizing profusely that she was deeply embarrassed by the behavior of the clerk. I have no advice to give as to the quality of the rooms, but I have an interesting story about the quality of the service. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
49 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#11 of 20 in Cambridge
89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
1,914 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
3.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Boston / Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freepoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freepoint Hotel

Property: Freepoint Hotel
Address: 220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138-1102 (Formerly Hotel Tria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freepoint Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Freepoint Hotel, you will enjoy newly renovated and smartly designed guestrooms with deluxe amenities such as super-fast complimentary Wi-Fi and hair products by Living Proof, an innovative local company. You will also have access to our brand new, well-equipped fitness room as well as access to our daily shuttle which will take you anywhere in a two-mile radius. Affordable parking is also available on site. Lastly, be sure visit Chef Matthew Gaudet’s much anticipated return to the Greater Boston dining scene at Freepoint Kitchen & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freepoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tria
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing