We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor hotel”
Review of Freepoint Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Freepoint Hotel
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
399 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good location but poor hotel”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Arrived after long flight from UK on the 20th August. Had pre-booked and paid for two king sized rooms.. Receptionist was awful, no smile, no welcome, just stared at the computer for about ten minutes without any signs of communication. Eventually was handed two room keys. When got to rooms, found we had been given two queen beds. The comfort of the beds,pillows were the worst I have ever experienced in the world. The hotel has a good breakfast, and is in a good location for the airport and travelling to Harvard. Shuttle bus drops you off at the metro or Harvard if you request at the reception. So try another hotel if you want good service, you certainly dont get it here.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    296
    150
    49
    34
See reviews for
312
148
50
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

GREAT Location!!! 5 minute drive from Harvard square. This hotel is very affordable & a trendy little secret. Not your run of the mill Best Western, but the Hotel Tria tries and succeeds with their modern decor, great little workout room & fun little amenities (such as the plush robes). While many mid level Boston hotels are expensive if not overpriced the Tria gives you a nice place to stay at a nice rate. The hotel is away from all the hustle bustle of Boston and Cambridge, being located right across from Fresh Pond but it's also very close to restaurants, the Whole Foods grocery and two little shopping areas. Both Boston and Cambridge center are just a short drive away. The only negative would be the Hotel no longer has the AMAZING indoor pool we use to enjoy years ago during regular visits. Also, i would suggest the management put a smiling pleasant face on the front desk...warmth and personality to match what the hotel is trying to accomplish on all levels. My family and I enjoyed our time here. After being away 6 years, the hotel did not let us down.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Compared to most other hotels downtime I'd say this hotel is fairly good value for money. It's very relative however as in most other locations it would be considered overpriced for wat it offers. Basic rooms with everything you expect for a Best Western, public areas were clean but not very inviting to spent any time in. Thought the Starbucks attached to the property was very usefull however and the free shuttle bus which can take you to Harvard Square a nice touch. Was ok for 2 nights but not so great I would automatically go back there the next time (which is what it would have done if I felt it was above average).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
149 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We got a great deal through Hotwire at the BW Tria in Cambridge. The Room was very nice and modern, the breakfast was excellent. They do have shuttle service to the "T" (subway) and to Harvard Square, but we had to wait an hour before they came and picked us up from our tour of Harvard. They have a Whole Foods right next door for picking up something to eat, but we did find it lacking (not much choice) for a restaurant within walking distance for dinner to the hotel. Very easy to get to the airport from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia, Minnesota
Level Contributor
145 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I was originally supposed to come in at 11 pm but because of storms at O'Hare, this got bumped to a 12 noon arrival. Which was good. EVEN with a MapQuest print out, it was almost impossible to find it in the daytime. It's not the hotel's fault; the roads in Boston are "challenging". I was pretty ticked that I still got charged for a night when I couldn't get there because of storms. i cancelled at 6 pm there time. Not my fault. The guy was moderately matter of fact about sticking me for $250 for a room I could use because of, well, God. With that said, it was clean, it was quiet, and next door is a place called Ma Magoos which is GREAT. Not fancy, but a food institution.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a hotel to drive to and then forget the car- at a reasonable price this is it. Ample parking is included when booking through the hotel or Best Western online. Also included is a breakfast which includes the usual continental fare along with waffles, eggs, sausage, and home fries. Free wireless tops of the free offerings. The hotel is decently clean (could use a few touch ups but it is clean) and the staff is friendly. We drove in, parked the car, and then forgot about it and rode the T. The closest station is alewife and is about a 10 minute walk (15-20 with kids).

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigthumbz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

A wedding to attend downtown Boston and we were striking out finding reasonably priced accommodation. We came across the Hotel Tria and decided to try it. Since we arrived rather late -we walked from the T-Station to the Hotel (shuttle had stopped running) and it was easy with the path there being well lit.We only had our carry on suitcases so the walk was easy. There is a shopping complex with Trader Joe's and Whole Foods as well as McDonalds for any late night food runs. This was the trip where actually spent the most time in our hotel room watching the Olympics and took a walk to the nearby shopping complex as well to some of the aforementioned places. The room was bigger than most of the rooms we had stayed in for the same price in downtown Boston and we knew the area so it was not a huge inconvenience for us. Microwave and Micro Fridge in the room. The breakfast was as good as you are going to get for this type of buffet style breakfast. The gentleman working to replenish items at the breakfast kept everything filled and had a very pleasant disposition! Cookies in the afternoon - yay! Overall a solid plus choice!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeripheriesPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
1.1 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#8 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
3.7 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.9 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Freepoint Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freepoint Hotel

Property: Freepoint Hotel
Address: 220 Alewife Brook Pkwy, Cambridge, MA 02138-1102 (Formerly Hotel Tria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#9 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Freepoint Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Freepoint Hotel, you will enjoy newly renovated and smartly designed guestrooms with deluxe amenities such as super-fast complimentary Wi-Fi and hair products by Living Proof, an innovative local company. You will also have access to our brand new, well-equipped fitness room as well as access to our daily shuttle which will take you anywhere in a two-mile radius. Affordable parking is also available on site. Lastly, be sure visit Chef Matthew Gaudet’s much anticipated return to the Greater Boston dining scene at Freepoint Kitchen & Cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Freepoint Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tria
Best Western Cambridge
Cambridge Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing