We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picnic by the Pond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Pond Reservation

Fresh Pond Reservation
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Picnic by the Pond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed in Cambridge for my daughter's college graduation. To escape the frenzy, I grabbed a salad at Whole Foods and walked across the street from our hotel. It's a busy highway but there are several traffic lights with crosswalks. I ducked under some brush and took a small footpath that led to this gorgeous, natural area. You can walk around the pond in about an hour, plus there are lots more trails if you want more exercise or privacy. There are bathrooms in the Waterworks, benches and many grassy areas for picnicking.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great running trail, bring your dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

My dog and I go for a run here almost every weekend. It is about 2.5 miles around the loop and your dog doesn't need to be leashed. If dogs under your feet is annoying to you, you may want to come early or avoid this place in the summer. Otherwise, my dog loves it and especially loves the swimming spot by the golf course as a place to cool off after all his hard work!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank becknuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
242 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Always A Reliable Reservation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

The grooming of the Reservation gets better all of the time. Surrounded by ponds, golf course, animals and water , this is a wonderful City place to exercise or gather.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank havingfunagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh Pond: A great place to think and work out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

The Fresh Pond Reservation consists of a 155 acre lake, and 162 acres of surrounding land, with a 2.25 mile perimeter road popular with walkers, runners and cyclists. It also has a 9 hole golf course. The pond and its surroundings are beautiful and quiet and is an excellent place to go for a walk, breath fresh air. and think.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ajfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fresh Pond Loop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Hiking around Fresh Pond Is a great experience. You'll love it.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jdearman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fresh Pond Reservation also viewed

 

Been to Fresh Pond Reservation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing