We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only When You're REALLY Hungry, Go Here”

Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers
Ranked #5 of 634 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Cape Cod
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only When You're REALLY Hungry, Go Here”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've been eating here since they opened in the early 1960's, so I've watched the place grow into the institution it is today. It has all of the charm of a university cafeteria (wicked smart young people eat here) and an amusing menu with sandwiches named after famous people. Stick with the burgers. Be prepared to feed the ATM $3 if you don't have enough cash on you. And the closest restroom is around the corner at Dunkin Donuts at 1 Bow Street. Why doesn't this place have it's own restrooms? Oh, it must be that space is taken up by the ATM machine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MertonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    323
    99
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“1st. Class Burgers since 1960”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been coming to Mr. Bartley's since 1987 for their terrific burgers, fries, onion rings, cole-slaw, and shakes. Mr. Bartley´s was gourmet when no one was. The place is probably one of the very few businesses that came to Harvard Square more than half a a century ago and are still facing successfully the competition. This burger place is an institution in itself. The quality is still the same as it was 25 years ago. I did notice, however, that the burgers have shrunk a bit. It is still a very crowded place during peak hours, and at night, a sign that the quality has not diminished. Neither the prices have changed, a burger with blue cheese and onion rings costs approximately the same as 25 years ago (Under $10). Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Frenetic and fun...”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Crazy busy despite the Yale / Harvard game going on...felt like a well fed sardine...the fries were so so, but the burgers are top notch...next stop in Boston will be a re-visit...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stopped by for lunch in September. We had to wait outside in line to get in, but they are very efficient and you could order your lunch while waiting in line, then it would be ready when you were seated. The burgers and sandwiches are all named after local and national politicians, I had the Michelle Oboma. It was the best hamburger I've had in a while, delish!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank mscrdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best hamburger joint in Boston”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

You may have to wait and you'll be seated elbow to elbow, but the burgers cant be beat. This is a "joint," not a fine dining experience. I really like the taste of the meat they use, and my burger always arrives medium-rare -- as ordered. Fries and onion rings are also very good. This is my go-to burger joint. I have friends from Washington DC who visit periodically -- and this this always their first stop.

Only downside is that the burger aroma from the grill imbues the place, and sometimes lingers in your clothes as well -- an unexpected "souvenir."

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers also viewed

 

Been to Mr. Bartley's Gourmet Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing