We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, great neighborhood feel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amelia's Trattoria

Amelia's Trattoria
Reserve with OpenTable
Amelia's Trattoria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 595 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Delio Susi, in anticipation of his restaurant’s tenth anniversary, refined both his restaurant’s menu as well as its interior design, to great success. Losing none of his Abruzzi roots, the food is clean but clearly Italian, and a little rustic. The warm and inviting room makes the same statement. Drawing on his architectural background, Susi plays with simple organic materials, like square slate tiles and tabletops, and brown leather tufted banquettes. The use of brick plus copper fixtures contribute to the Italian country/casual feel that serves food and wine to match. Wooden floors and European style open windows for the summer add to this ambiance. And red lamps that hang in bright contrast with the earthy tones during the day, shed a sexy flattering nighttime glow. Amelia’s Trattoria offers a personal and authentic dining experience using top local ingredients infused with the heart of its Italian chef.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great neighborhood feel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Amelia's was a treat - it has the feel of a neighborhood place where people would learn to greet you by name, the authentic italian food of a place where you'd find a grandmother in the kitchen, and the upscale menu and sophistication you can expect in a big city.

The food was delicious, the service was prompt, personable and unpretentious, and I can't wait to return.

A real treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EMBMaryland_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    24
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Wow what a great dinner. The service was great! The food was super. Small place but you can't find a better place for Italian and a glass of wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Taves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our hotel reccommened Amelia's for dinner tonight and what a wonderful surprise. The appetizers of meatballs and calamari risotto were outstanding. The bread and sundried tomato spread was so good. Do not eat too much before the delicious meal like I did, the meals are big and wonderful. Service and staff was professional but the overall feeling was a relaxed and welcoming

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This lovely small restaurant will become a go-to in Cambridge after your first visit. The staff welcomed our large party warmly and we felt immediately at home. The service was attentive without hovering. The menu offered something to entice all our very diverse tastes, and the kitchen accommodated several special requests with ease, The chefs joked with us and shared commentary about the on-going Bruins' playoff game while they worked in the open window. The food was well prepared, delicious, and very satisfying. A well-chosen wine list introduced us to some new discoveries, which is always fun. Definitely looking forward to return visits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RIWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice place, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was invited by friends who go there for lunch. We arrived for an early dinner and had Arenchini as a starter after they brought us some Focchachia with a salsa. My friends had Pasta with Bolognese from Ribs. This was really great. I had the rib eye which I ordered rare and they served it well-done. After complaining the result was pretty decent. Prices are OK and what the kitchen produced for the other tables looked pretty good!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riesl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amelia's Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Amelia's Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing