We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harvard Square Gem”
Review of Toscano

Toscano
Reserve with OpenTable
Toscano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 634 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Story St.
Transit: The T: Redline to "Harvard Sq."
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Harvard Square Gem”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have been to Toscano at Harvard Square several times, as a couple and with friends. We have been pleased with the food and the service at every visit. The menu offers a good selection of dishes to please a variety of palate. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. The atmosphere is warm and vibrant with active diners. The restaurant has very tall glass window panels giving you a view of the outside world, adding to the ambiance are the warm brick walls with magnificent artistically painted glass lighting. The place transports you to a Tuscan Italian mood. The kitchen combines the freshest ingredients to bring about the Tuscan kitchen experience. The Staff is outstanding!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glob-tratter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    92
    34
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Service and Ambiance - - Welcome”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I really like the addition of Toscano to the Harvard square area. The food is good albeit not as innovative as ideal, but the service is great as is the ambience of the restaurant. The restaurant has some good classical appertizers such as the caprese and beet salat and often the daily specials include Mediteranian fish dishes. What truly makes this restaurant stand out from the competition in Harvard square is the excellent service and the open windows during the summer. Welcom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Welcome in the neighborhood”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The bright lights, dark woods and large windows offer a charming Cambridge welcome. On this Monday night, there was a lively buzz of conversation and not one empty table. It's a popular spot and a great addition to the Cambridge dining scene. Service was impeccable. The wine list is terrific, and we were guided to a fine, reasonably priced bottle for the table. The bread basket is great, but don't fill up on the tempting bread and olive oil because forthcoming portions are large. Appetizers included a beet and gorgonzola salad, fresh brushcetta and a 4-cheese plate with organic honey, apples and figs. Our entrees included pasta and risotto dishes, plus a monkfish special of the night, which was outstanding seasoned with golden raisins and chili flakes, among other things. Everything was delicious. Back to the service -- from the bus boys to the maitre d' -- everyone brought their "A" game and made us feel welcome and appreciated. This is a top choice for anyone looking for a great meal in a lovely setting. We'll definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Davids, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great meal”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our meal at this restaurant was fantastic and memorable. The food was excellent - the most authentic Melanzane parmigiano I have eaten since visiting Taormina in Sicily about 10 years ago, followed by delicious fried sole.
The best meal of our vacation in the USA.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank rclem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian food and super staff”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We booked for dinner at the last minute and didn't have high hopes from this restaurant which looks a bit like an Italian chain from the outside. But the food was outstanding and the staff lovely. We will definitely go back again. I would recommend any of their fresh fish - we tried the cod and the salmon and both were delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscano also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Toscano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing