We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and GOOD chinese food.”
Review of Qingdao Garden

Qingdao Garden
Ranked #238 of 634 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic and GOOD chinese food.”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have been eating here for years. We LOVE the food here.

Quite a large selection of very tasty Northern style chinese food. Judging by the number of Chinese clients, I would guess the food is also authentic.
Their dumplings are very popular. The cucumber salad is refreshing. Scallion pancake appetisers are good. Chinese cabbage/bokchoy with garlic is great. Xingxong chicken (not sure of the spelling)- now this is a fiery hot dry chicken dish with chinese peppercorn and redchillies - not for the faint hearted. Frankly, we have never been disappointed by anything we have tried.

If you are interested in a refined dining experience, then this is not the place. If the food is really what you are interested in, then look no further.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vacation-wallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

There are weeks where I have eaten here every other day because of how consistently good the food is here.

They are known for their hand made dumplings, but venture beyond this and try out their fantastic Northern-style chinese food. Don't be fooled by the decor or the service, . This is not what this place is about, but do go there for the food. It is consistently fantastic. Ask the owner what they recommend or look at what the other Chinese people at the restaurant are eating, you will not be disappointed.

I highly recommend the cucumber salad, it's an unusual combination of garlic, cilantro, ginger, salt and cucumbers...sublime...this is what brings me back here again and again.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank interplanetary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but service can be bad and rude”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have eaten from here a few times and the food is pretty good but the host can be pretty rude sometimes and service is slow

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank arcollazo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“it is ok”
Reviewed May 18, 2008

it is ok

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Very good Chinese. Not Americanized, which depending on your style is occasion to beware or rejoice.”
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Very good Chinese. Not Americanized, which depending on your style is occasion to beware or rejoice.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Qingdao Garden also viewed

 

Been to Qingdao Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing