We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great foodie night"”
Review of Puritan & Company

Puritan & Company
Reserve with OpenTable
Puritan & Company is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $55
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Tremont Street
Transit: MBTA bus stops 69, 83, 91 CT2, 64, 68, 85 (ordered by distance of stop from restaurant) MBTA Red Line: Central Square and 12-minute walk
Description: Puritan & Company serves modern American cuisine, with particular emphasis on traditional New England fare, and not without occasional excursions into other ethnic ingredients and styles. Our mainstays are ingredients sourced from farms we know and locally to the extent possible, and always a sense of fun. The team brings a unique mix of culinary and beverage experience together to offer quality food, local beers, and wine from independent makers worldwide. Puritan & Company's space is a casual and fun place to dine. We love to share our excitement about the food and wine we serve like any hosts at a dinner party. Guests and their friends should feel comfortable in our friendly and even familial environment as we make our food and guest the number one focus.
Brunswick, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“"Great foodie night"”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Ate there last night. Crowded and loud but in a good way. Lucked out and got a nice corner table in the back so wife and I both had a booth type bench seat. Good people watching. Rolls were amazing as others have noted, I did eat 4 of them partially because the plates were fairly small. Every dish was very elegant though. Swordfish pastrami was delectable and the mustard gelato was indeed unique. Lamb belly was great as well. Had the little gems salad which was fine but pretty pedestrian by standards of the other dishes. Main courses were best of all. I had the cobia which was perfectly prepared with some tasty sauteed escarole. My wife out ordered me badly though with the duck which was in her words, "Exactly what I am hoping for when I order duck and what I am imagining when it disappoints me." I tried it and it was ridiculously good; for me duck can be hit or miss and seems to be easy to "fowl" up but this was perfect. Earlier reviews criticizing the duck had a very different experience than we did. Service was good and attentive despite the crowd.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Puritan & Company is a perfect fit for the East Cambridge/Inman Square neighborhood. This place is very hip and the kitchen knows what it is doing. Menu probably changes pretty frequently given availability in ingredients but the wagyu steak, duck and lamb chops are must-try items. Foie gras, gougeres and baked oysters are perfect ways to kick off dinner. Impressive wine list, though pricey. Very spacious bar as well as a mini-bar in the back. With Tupelo right across the street, Puritan has made Inman just that much more attractive and I look forward to returning soon!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walls2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“food is average”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Offal and the like is becoming overdone and this places proves it. I had the bone marrow. It was very greasy and topped with chees that overwhelmed the taste. The duck has a thick rind of fat and came cold. Three other diners at the table had to cut off and sicard the skin and fat.

This restaurant is very popular with 30 somethings and has a nice ambience but the food doesnt live up to scrutiny

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
333 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A Valentine to Puritan & Company”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I made reservations for our first trip to Puritan & Company for Valentine's Day. Only later did I realize that it was going to be a prix-fixe, special menu. Given how holiday prix-fixe meals usually end up in varying levels of disappointment we entered with trepidation. But that was soon swept away by a delightful evening of excellent food, fine wine and impeccable service. The meal consisted of four courses. An amuse-buche of cauliflower custard, served in a brown egg shell atop a mount of salt was a clever presentation and tasty enough, although it tasted more of shallot than cauliflower. The first courses were delicious - duck confit served with black-eyed peas was just the right balance between silky meat and crispy skin. The seared foie gras on johnny cakes was divine. For the second course we had the lobster bisque which had several meaty chunks of lobster meat in the creamy broth and a tasty winter vegetable salad, beautifully tied together with a smear of yogurt cheese. The entrees were delicious -- Bershire pork with a small portion of sausage and a grilled waygu beef with jewel-like roasted vegetables. The chocolate dessert with passion fruit and a pineapple financier were a wonderful way to wrap up the meal.

The wine list is almost entirely European but there are some very reasonably priced bottles. Service throughout the meal was super, friendly and informative without ever being intrusive.

For a large, high-ceiled room with virtually every table filled, Puritan never seemed too loud. The gray walls, comfortably cushioned banquets and bleached wood features are understated and refined.

Lastly, don't pass up the rolls. They're soft, slightly sweet little pillows of love dusted with salt and served with excellent butter. We'd have loved to have taken a dozen home for breakfast in the morning! Puritan & Company is a welcome addition of Inman Square and Cambridge.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another Gilson Triumph”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been following Will Gilson for years, first at his restaurant The Cellar on Mass Ave, then his wonderful pop up restaurant in Truro Ma. at Adrians, now in Inman Square. All have been a delight with cuisine that is thoughtful and delicious. Our wait staff was attentive and the general manager, though busy spared a few words with us. We will return, I just wish there was some vodka to drink.. no matter the sherry was wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dstiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puritan & Company also viewed

 

Been to Puritan & Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing