We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Local Pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Za

Za
Ranked #54 of 595 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great Local Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This place has fantastic personal sized pizzas - they have tons of great pizza topping combos, but still allow you to make your own pizza.

We get take-out pizza from here once a week and always enjoy it. The cheese to sauce to dough ratio is perfect and not overwhelming in any way. We have also tried some of their salads and while they are on the smaller size, they are great for an appetizer.

During the summer months, they have great tables where you can sit, enjoy a beer, and hang out. The service outdoors matches the service inside.

We really enjoy getting take-out here and have enjoyed using their patio on warm summer nights!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    25
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Boring, bad pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Went to Za for an early dinner after a holiday weekend matinee at the Kendall movie theater. Seated quickly, and service was attentive. (Did I mention that the area was unusually quiet.) We ordered the beet salad and an assortment of pizzas. The salad was not; it was more of a mixture of diced, cooked (or maybe canned) beets and feta cheese smooshed back in the can, then slid out of the can as a cylinder of beets and cheese. I love beets, but not these beets. The pizzas tasted like frozen dough with tasteless sauce, and a light smattering of non-descript toppings (a veggie pizza lacking a rich assortment of the local bounty currently available) and grocery store shredded parmesan. And these little (10") pizzas are aggressively priced.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Whatsfordinner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascouche, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

For our 10th anniversary my husband and I went for diner at Za. Pizzas were great so as the charcuterie and cheese plate. Excellent service by Nataliya!

Helpful?
Thank Bibje
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food served well.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not bad. You definitely need to kinda guess what the food will be like. I find the portions a bit small. On the other hand, the atmosphere, the table spacing, comfort and great staff make this a 'go to' place for meetings and casual dinners.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ordered their specialty pizzas to share...all three were amazing. Great service and environment. Best arugula salad ever. Would eat here again and again but now back in Michigan :(

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gnomiesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Za also viewed

 

Been to Za? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing