We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Dark, cozy eating spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge 1

Cambridge 1
Ranked #118 of 608 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
CO
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Dark, cozy eating spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Cambridge, 1. in Harvard Square is a reliable spot for both a pseudo-quick bite as well as a longer, more substantial dining experience. The restaurant itself is QUITE DARK,which lead me and my partner to sit at the bar by the window (just so we could see the food!). The noise level is relaxed, despite the populated dining area - good acoustics! The food is solidly good - not amazing, but DEFINITELY not bad. I prefer a thin crust to be a bit crunchier than what is produced here, but the food is delicious. What is really unique is their offering of ordering one pizza with two choices of toppings, one on each half. On my last visit, we ordered half portobello mushroom and half roasted tomato and caramelized onion. The sprigs of fresh scallion topped off the flavor palette wonderfully! Their salads amazing - fresh, simple. And the tables/bars have a spicy oil that is perfect for these salads. Service is great, and the price is right!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ughughCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    58
    15
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, peaceful, great food and beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went there for a pre-concert quick dinner. I was impressed by how visually attractive and peaceful the place felt although it was nearly full. Even when it filled up completely the noise level was still lower than one would expect. We had thin crust pizzas, which arrived quickly and were delicious. The beer was also wonderful (Dogfish IPA). Would go back again often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jah1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A favorite in the Square.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I love the high quality ingredients used at Cambridge 1 and the unique flavors of their pizzas are a welcome change of pace from your average pizza joint. However, on my most recent trip I was disappointed that our pizza was burnt on the bottom.

We received attentive service as is my usual experience at the restaurant and only waited 15 minutes to be seated - not bad for a Saturday night in the Square.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelrGrl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Maine
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had a great pizza here. I was attracted by the wood smell outside. The pizza was delicious. Very fresh. The beer was great too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pizza, not too crowded”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

On the way to the A.R.T. we needed lunch and went to Cambridge 1 at the suggestion of our friends who live in Cambridge. Everywhere in Harvard Square looked packed so we were grateful to go into this oasis of quiet with really interesting pizza. We had the spinach and artichoke heart which was to die for and the lobster and corn which was surprisingly bland. We also had an arugula salad which was fine but truly just that...a pile of arugula and some shave parm....not everyone at the table was so psyched.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesliefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge 1 also viewed

 

Been to Cambridge 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing