We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as being Brasil”
Review of Muqueca

Muqueca
Ranked #47 of 697 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed November 5, 2015

Best Brasilian food outside of Brazil. The moqueca's, feijoada and caiprnihas are as authentic as you can find. The deserts were to-die-for and the expresso's put Starbucks to shame. You really need to go here if you want to feel like you are dining in Sao Paulo or Rio.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 103 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2015 via mobile

Muqueca is a national dish of Brazil and it is wonderful. I had the shrimp muquecu and it was full of shrimp. My wife had the red snapper. It was very good. Also try the Brazilian dark beer.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank bdan1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2015

Definitively the authentic Brazilian experience for seafood! Wonderful food and the owner is very friendly! Some staff are great! It is not a place to eat in a rush, so go when you have time to appreciate the time it takes to prepare great food!

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank Danuza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

We were in the mood to eat something different and tried this restaurant based on reviews here. Truly was a good restaurant with great food and service. Family friendly as well. Quick cab ride from MIT area. Parking easy in the pm.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Ivette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2015

To begin, let me state that our recent first visit to Muqueca will be the first of many. Our servier, Nicole, was first rate--informative, courteous, and attentive. As for the food it is AMAZING!!!!
Constant Companion and I began with Lula empanada com molho de maracujá (Fried Calamari with passion fruit sauce). Nicole volunteered to bring some of Muqueca's home made hot sauce for me. A nice tomato base very similar to "Inner Beauty" sauce it was superb. The Calamari were nicely breaded and cooked perfectly.
For entrees, Constant Companion selected Bobo de camarão (Shrimp BoBó) @
$ 18.95. It was comprised of Shrimp, tomato, onion, cilantro, yucca cream & coconut milk cooked and presented in a clay pot. Accompanying the shrimp was a nice serving of white rice and a "gravy" both of which CC raved about. It should be pointed out that there was too much food for CC to finish so Nicole neatly packed what remained into three separate doggie bag containers. For the next few days CC enthusiastically spoke of her first encounter with Brazilian cooking.
I selected the Moqueca de peixe (Fish Moqueca @ $ 18.95. I have been wanting to try this dish since seeing it featured "Neighborhood Kitchens" on PBS last year. This dish is a Brazilian Style Seafood Stew made with Cilantro, Tomato & Onion, and served with Rice & Pirão. This was a remarkably enjoyable meal also cooked and served in a clay pot !!! The seafood in the stew was tender local Haddock. This was so good that I finished it all but later I was bemoaning the fact that I had no left overs. It was really that good!!!. Total bill, including 1 Caipirinha ($ 6.50) and 1 Chardonnay, including tax was $63.50.

Date of visit: August 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank robertbJ1150ZS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muqueca also viewed

 

Been to Muqueca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing