We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, unpretentious Mexican”

Jose's Mexican Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Jose's Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rindge Ave.
Transit: Yes, The Red line T, Alwife station.
Description: Jose's Mexican Restaurant has been serving the most authentic Mexican cuisine to the residents of Cambridge, MA. Come in for a truly delicious taste!
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good, unpretentious Mexican”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I visited Jose's for lunch on a weekday and had a very good experience. My somewhat customized order was done perfectly, and our server's recommendation of the black beans was right on as well. The decor is fun, and the menu has lots of options without being overwhelming. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NEtraveler707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    33
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent for what it is!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I admit it. I love fine dining. I also get the occasional craving for a simple, tasty, zesty, Mexican meal. Jose's is the perfect antidote! Great food, super-friendly, Spanish speaking, service. Especially appreciate they put up w my bad Spanish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roscommon1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
416 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Great Mexican meal”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Boston is short on authentic Mexican options, but this out-of-the-way hole-in-the-wall is a great option for this area. Guacamole was terrific, as were the steak enchiladas I had. My wife really enjoyed her chimichangas. Lots of options for sauces/styles, good vegetarian options, etc. Ambiance is low-key but full of character unlike chain Mexican places. Certainly you could do better in TX or CA, but for the region, this is a pretty good approximation of Mexican.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jays165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fair Prices, Great Service”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Mexican restaurants are usually memorable only if the get it wrong. You have to really try, to screw up Mexican food. Not only did these guys get the food right, they added excellent service and fair prices into the arrangement.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macbeemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious mexican food in local neighborhood”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have always had amazing service and great food.
Authentic food and drinks.
Also- great upstairs for a party.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank love2surf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jose's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jose's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing