We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Lunch!”
Review of Upstairs on the Square - CLOSED

Upstairs on the Square
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: JFK Street
Transit: Harvard MBTA
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
333 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lunch!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came here for lunch, knowing almost nothing about this place, and based entirely upon the positive reviews in TA and other sources. The reviews were not wrong. What a nice place for a great meal!.

We had lunch in the "Zebra Room," overlooking Winthrop Square. The decor could, I think, best be described as "whimsical" but stylish. If you have an aversion to pink, you might want to stay away. Their website describes it as "raspberry," but it is VERY pink. As nice as the view was, and as fun as the decor was, however, the real attraction was the food and service. All aspects were just top-notch, and very reasonably-priced, for such a great meal. The tagliatelle alla cod piccata was perfectly done, and the service was spot-on.

They also had some wonderful wines available by the glass at very reasonable prices. While we enjoyed several nice meals on our trip to Boston, this may have been the very best. I definitely want to return.
.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    54
    30
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cute spot”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I went here for restaurant week. I must say that the food was very good - my only complaint is that the waitress could have stepped it up a bit. She even neglected to ask my friend how he wanted his steak cooked.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
180 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice but not outstanding”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We recently visited Upstairs on the Square for our wedding anniversary. It was a nice summer night so we actually ate out on the terrace. The food was very good but not great. It was restaurant week so there were a lot of folks eating the fixed price menu but we ordered from the regular menu. The oyster appitizer was very good but again not great. The nocchi dish was superb for a pasta course and the char was a very nice dish for our entree.

The main problem that we had was the service. The people were very nice but not overly well informed about the menu and the food - twice they needed to go on a search to answer our inquiries,. The wait to order and the wait particularly between courses was much too long. We waited a full thirty minutes between the pasta and the entree.

Our meal was good, but for the price they charge I believe one can expect a good deal more. We spend $140 for two people - they should know whats in the food. I fear that we shall not return

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank th001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wedding there and it was great”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A "different" kind of place but lovely service and we all had an excellent time. The organizers did a great job.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool place and excellent food”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Group of 8 looking for a place to eat after a tour of the Harvard Campus. Restaurant next door could not accomodate our group, so we decided to give UpStairs a try. We did not regret our choice. We really enjoyed our lunch in this restaurant. The decor alone is worth a visit. Food was high quality and reasonable prices make a great combination. Highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank louisepic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs on the Square also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing