We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all, but had higher expectations”
Review of Legal Sea Foods

Legal Sea Foods
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 634 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Elliot
Transit: Harvard Square (Red Line) "T" stop.
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. Located in the courtyard of the Charles Hotel, our restaurant evokes the simple style of the original Legal Sea Foods that was in nearby Inman Square, Cambridge. In warmer months our outside patio reels in those who choose the fresh seafood and fresh air combo. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Boston Phoenix, 2009) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not bad at all, but had higher expectations”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

It sounds strange, but after living in the area for 16 years it was our first visit to Legal Sea Foods chain. Had Sunday brunch with the family. Menu had enough chooses for both: sea foods and non-sea foods (one of us) eaters. We had two different salmon dishes, shrimp salad and the burger. Good, no questions, but not exceptional. Something was missing, a twist maybe?
The server was attentive, but did not make any comments or suggestions. Overall it was pleasant experience. Would we come back? Probably not.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yury1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    85
    41
    18
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Reliable, fairly consistent, but not exceptional seafood”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Had two dinners here over a long w/end. Partner loves crab and had some wonderful crab rangoon and a nice crab appetizer which was large enough for a meal. i had salmon on the Greek salad, which was good, but not outstanding. The salad was "over chopped" and just didn't have anything interesting in it; the salmon was cooked properly, but had little real taste. It was similar both nights, but the crab was clearly better one night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeuroscienceYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I invited friends to join us for Thanksgiving lunch having experienced a really good Thanksgiving lunch at the same location last year. What a completely different experience on both service and food! Our turkey meal was extremely dry and our server definitely required some experience in social graces. As a matter of fact, so did the other servers who brought us our meals. I have no idea why someone would reach across the table to put down a plate of food rather than just walk to the other side of the table. The same went for when the plates were cleared. This is basic training!

We will probably not visit this location again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Simply good fish”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I started eating at Legal when it was a hole in the wall in Inman Square, which is a few years ago. It was great then and accessible on a student budget. In the intervening decades, Legal spread to new locations like crazy. Legal is everywhere, at least in Boston/Cambridge. That said, the food is still excellent. Yes, there now are trendy preparations - "blackened cod with an exotic spice rub from Tibet" - and so forth. But, it's all good and the prices are fair. You cannot go wrong at Legal. In fact, you will go very right and be happy you at at one of the many theres that Legal now has.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanFranciscoGuy634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“so yummy”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

The chowda is not to be missed. The crab cakes are superb and I'm considering ordering them to have them shipped for Christmas.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CUBuffFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods also viewed

 

Been to Legal Sea Foods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing