We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Casa Portugal

Casa Portugal
Ranked #194 of 628 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salem, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were buying wine at The Wine and Cheese Cask and they suggested Casa Portugal for lunch. The page of lunch specials is quite interesting and inexpensive. I had a bowl of spaghetti topped with clams, shrimp, and a bit of fish. Martha had an octopus plate that was large enough to become a lunch on a later date. The friendly and efficient waiter brought over four bottles of wine, gave a brief synopsis of each, eventually steering us to the cheaper alternative that was quite good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    5
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Genuine Portuguese”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very authentic. You could very easily imagine that you were sitting in a small café/restaurant in Lisboa or in a small town in the Algarve. Great wine selection if you truly appreciate Portuguese wines. The service was good and the food excellent.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CornGrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoneham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“charging for a second soda”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This restaurant has excellent food and a long reputation for class. That is why i was so disappointed in the service i received at lunch. I ordered a portugeese soup and the special tuna steak along with a ginger ale. The food was very good and was enjoying the meal when the waitress asked if i needed another ginger ale. My first glass of 8 oz was still 1/4 of the way full. I said ok and she proceeded to take away my 1/4 fill glass and replace it with another 8 oz glass. When i received the bill i noticed i had been charged for 2 sodas. When i questioned the waitress about it she got angry with me. I was upsold and hustled for a glass of ginger ale. How petty. I took the cost of the second soda off the tip and then took the restaurant off of my places to dine. This waitress needs some customer service training.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goodadviceStoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOW! Amazing food great price.”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Highly recommend trying this place out. It tends to be pretty empty when I've been and I don't know why.

The food is absolutely unbelievable and so inexpensive!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Burg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good choise!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good choise to visit this restaurant! I was working in the city for a few days and I found this place very friendly, good service and really taste food. I ordered "Dourada" and Porto wine, and they were delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara_Zee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Portugal also viewed

 

Been to Casa Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing