We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of the road mexican fare”
Review of Border Cafe

Border Cafe
Ranked #3 of 635 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Cajun & Creole, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Middle of the road mexican fare”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Mexican is one of those cuisines that's so hard to do really well and so easy to get all wrong.

Border Cafe near Harvard is kinda in the middle. The place itself is more like a big sports bar than a cafe, and although we were there for a fairly quiet lunch, I'm sure it pumps along when school's in and all the college kids hit the decks.

For me I found the service OK without really hitting any highs, likewise the food - as authentic as you would expect in a place like this (not very) - big servings, salty, fried and cheesy. Go great on a boozey night out with a large group.

I'm dismayed at how this area has changed over the last 20 years and wouldn't return to this place - its part of the problem.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    279
    85
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Get the seafood enchiladas! Now!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Okay the seafood enchiladas here are probably one if the best things I have ever eaten in my life! My husband ordered the beef enchiladas and they were really good but he agreed not even close to the seafood! While eating them I was lamenting that I live across the country and will probably never have them again! Chips and salsa were great ,service exceptional too! A must visit while visiting Harvard! Can't say enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsayze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It's Tex Mex but great”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It's a must-visit whenever our daughters come to visit the Boston area. Never had a bad meal there. Highly recommend the fajitas.

Helpful?
Thank ajgeek65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Noisy and Crowded”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Fairly ordinary Mexican food. Awfully noisy and often crowded with students. Good guacamole,however!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindsay159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringoes, NJ USA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great TexMex and Creole”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a great place just off Harvrad Square with meals less than 10 bucks. If you like Southwest and New Orleans creole this is as cose as you can get in this area. I wouldnt suggest this for a business meeting as it is loud and very informal

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiverAl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Border Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Border Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing