We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neighborhood gem.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dolphin Seafood - CLOSED

Dolphin Seafood
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

An inexpensive seafood restaurant, home-y and friendly. Excellent food and friendly service. It's conveniently located, just a few blocks from Harvard Square, which is a plus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    26
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, MA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited here several nights ago for a date and had a relatively pleasant experience. The wait was somewhat long, on account of tables not being ready prior to arriving. The food was quite delicious, and although the server forgot the crab cakes initially, she later brought them and the drinks we had bought were on the house. All in all, a good experience, and some place I would gladly go again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Delish fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Wife snagged a coupon from a tourist guide & we headed over for supper. Sturdy martini for her got us off to a happy start for her twin 1 1/4 pound lobsters, while I had the broiled combo with scrod as the feature fish. Everything fresh & flavorful, and we were glad that we hadn't ordered appetizers since we didn't finish entrees. Hostess served us with great attention as we arrived during a rush and the place was hopping. Great value & time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great seafood at Dolphin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

It was pouring the rain Saturday night, so we dashed across the street to Dolphin Seafood, a restaurant next door to our hotel in Cambridge. What luck! This restaurant is not fancy-looking on the outside, but inside, they serve great fresh seafood at reasonable prices. Delicious oysters on the half shell (six for $8) and a huge bowl of fried calamari for an appetizer that could have been a meal in itself. The sole was excellent and so was the salmon. We ate way too much but enjoyed every minute of it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joeandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Go for lobster rolls and nothing else”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Lobster roll was phenomenal and very reasonably priced. But the rest (seafood medley) not so much. The crowd was NOT cool and the service was ok.. nothing to complain about but nothing extraordinary either. So yes, I am going back for lobster rolls again, just not staying for dinner. Have to try their calamari appetizers too!
Also maybe they could do something for "curb appeal"? Not very appetizing from outside.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank kolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Seafood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing