We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picante Grill offers a big selection, low prices and quick service.”
Review of Picante Mexican Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Picante Mexican Grill
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Picante Grill offers a big selection, low prices and quick service.”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was impressed with the variety for such a small place. You can eat for $5-$10. It is definitely good if you are on a budget. I went at a time when it was not very busy. The service was relatively quick. I ordered a grilled chicken burrito. I thought it was ok. My companion ordered the nachos. The order was as big as a full meal. I loved sampling the salsa bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holllywood38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

good service, decent food, locally owned, and good prices. one of only two Latin American restaurants in the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank nicholhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“finally found it”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I come from Greenville, SC. There, you can find plenty of tex-mex or Mexican or Hispanic/Latino restaurants. One of my favorites had a full salsa bar and delicious vegetarian options.

I've been looking for it since my move to the greater Boston metro area, and have not been able to find that.

Picante has a delicious salsa bar and the food I ordered a papas dish and my date's dish [vegetarian plate] performed beyond satisfactorily.

I look forward to many happy returns.

Carnivores: you are not left out -- this is a restaurant for much to offer for vegetarians and non-vegetarians.

Inexpensive, fast, good quality ingredients. Atmosphere is perfuctory -- with a great location in Central square.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy quick Mexican food”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

You place your order at the counter here, then wait for your number to be called. Really tasty burritos, tacos, etc, await your choice of toppings from the salsa bar, which includes creative options such as the avocado salsa (pureed avocado with a jalepeno kick). Very reasonable prices, friendly services, clean and cozy. A good bet for a quick bite.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LoriW1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were excited to try this place based on Boston Globe suggestion. Cute place, nothing fancy and we liked that. Salsa bar is good and interesting way to try different sauces. Prices are reasonable and nice that they have Mexican beers. Problem was with the chicken in the chicken and rice dish and the chicken soft taco. Just did not taste good to the point of inedible. Chips are also not good, taste like cheap, supermarket type. Cheese quesadilla was very basic and bland and that was good for the picky 7 year old that ate it! Grilled steak burrito was the only truly good dish. With so many places in this area to try, you only get 1 chance. We won't be back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing