We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, friendly service, good price, no frills!”

Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant
Ranked #142 of 625 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, good price, no frills!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you are looking for a quick and easy lunch that tastes great and costs little, you've found your place! It really reminded me of some restaurants I visited in Northern India. There is more seating upstairs, a detail not necessarily evident upon first glance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica150801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    48
    13
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Food, friendly and well priced!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via Local Picks

We enjoyed the Goat Curry Vindaloo, Lamb Curry and the Chicken Tikka Masala. Entrees came with chutney, raita and some with naan. We also tried the samosa all were absolutely fantastic. I am a chef but not of Indian extraction and have prepared a great deal of Northern Indian Cuisine over the past 10 years and the food here is amongst the best that I or my family has ever had. A must if you are in Cambridge (Inman Square). It is as the name describes much like a road side food stand. Especially good for take-out.

Helpful?
Thank CDN-RS-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Delhi in Cambridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Best Indian food I ever had around Boston, hands down!
If you're looking for a nice restaurant though, don't go here. This is not what your looking for. This is a tiny, mostly take-out place with outstanding authentic northern Indian food. Punjabi = from Punjab, a northern province of India. Dhaba = roadside food stand. So, it's basically just what is says it is. Of my three friends from India in Boston, all three think this is the best Indian food in the area. I just wish I had the recipes from this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good appetizers, good prices!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We recently went to this little restaurant (they have a couple of additional tables on the 2nd floor) and food was mostly decent for the price. The chicken tikka masala and paneer makhni tasted great. The chole bhatura was different than most of the indian restaurants around, but I would still give that one a 3 out of 5. Kheer was good too.

We also ordered the "special chicken combo" (thali) - curry chicken was not too good, very average. The mixed vegetable that came along as a part of the combo was better.

Overall, a good place for a quick meal - the place is not fancy at all, so takeaway may be a better option. Again - anything that says "shahi" (paneer, chicken) or "tikka masala" (chicken, paneer, fish) tastes good cuz of the taste of the curry in that recipe.

streetside parking was easy to find on a sunday (free on the weekends).

BEWARE - prices on the website have changed

enjoy!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KingPin_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap, good Indian food in the midst of chaos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

If you are up for adventures in dining, Punjabi Dhaba is your kind of place. Wedge your way in the door, get in line and make up your mind quickly (menu on boards above the serving counter). Place your order, grab a drink (lassi, soda) out of the cooler, and stake out a seat.

This place bills itself as a roadside Indian diner, and they aren't kidding. The restaurant is full of people (many homesick Indians among them), jammed into the downstairs room (there is an upstairs), all watching PG-rated Indian music video blaring from the overhead TV. When your food arrives, it's served on an industrial-looking divided tray, which keeps the stuff you've ordered from mixing until you decide to push it together. I usually get something like Chicken Masala with Naan, or the Chaat when the weather turns warm.

And did I mention that the food in this unlikely place is delicious! And cheap. And fun.

Take a chance, and give this little gem a try.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malchus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Punjabi Dhaba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing