We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, some trouble with room service special requests”
Review of Bambara Cambridge

Bambara Cambridge
Reserve with OpenTable
Bambara Cambridge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 635 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 28 (McGrath Highway)
Transit: Green Line to Lechmere, or Red Line to Kendall Square
Description: Nestled on the Charles River Canal, Bambara is right where you need it: close to MIT, Tech Square, the Museum of Science, and adjacent to Hotel Marlowe. Here, Chef David Bazirgan’s menu finds inspiration from his experiences and exploration of different cuisines and flavor profiles, focusing on hyperlocal and seasonal ingredients. You’ll encounter tastes from around the globe, while enjoying our singnature hospitality and carefully curated beverage program. The Mediterranean-inspired cuisine finds its perfect match with our exceptional service and our vibrant, welcoming atmosphere. Bambara is open Monday thru Sunday for breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch, and private dining.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food, some trouble with room service special requests”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The food here is very skillfully prepared and delicious - lobster sliders are especially good. Staff are friendly and helpful. Some issue with special requests for room service - This is too bad because everything here is done well if they know what you want.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastmeetswestCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    95
    37
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Appalling service, ok food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We ate here as we stayed in the Marlowe hotel. The first night we ate at the bar. Upon arrival the waitresses were standing around with drinks in their hands looking more like customers than anything else. After about 10 mins of waiting they showed us where we could sit and we chose the bar. The bartender was friendly and promptly served us. We had some small dishes and the food was alright. The second night we wanted to sit at a table. After waiting for about 10 mins again to be seated (even though the person who is in charge of that was not busy and we were in clear view), we were shown to a table behind a large group of people. Even the waitress couldnt accesss the table because of the group and she actually expected us to squeeze in. It was also the noisiest seat in the house, we were amazed that she would even offer us this table! We chose to eat in the bar area again where it was a bit quieter. Sadly the service was even worse than the day before, quite unfriendly and unprofessional. We ordered a bottle of white wine (which we had to explain as the waitress didnt know the wines on the menu) and while the waitress brought a wine bucket to keep the bottle cold, she didnt actually put any ice in it so the whole bucket was completely pointless. We ordered a normal meal this time and I am sorry to say that it was the worst I've eaten during out entire holiday. The food is not bad but for those prices they can make it so much better. I would not go back here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarijkeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The breakfast is well worth the price. The food came out hot, quickly and tasted amazing. The servers are professional and polite. They pre-add a tip of 15% which is stated on the menu, which is great for those morning were you are on run.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isaac R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Rather Disappointing”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is the captive restaurant to a hotel that isn't within walking distance of other restaurants worth going to (other than across the street in a competitor's hotel). I found the wait staff to be uninterested in the task, the menu to be unimaginative, and the food, however, to be very well prepared and nicely presented - although the steak ended up being unexpectedly tough.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Patrick excellent bartender; a real professional”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The buttermilk fried chicken appetizer is worth the calories and Patrick has to be one of the nicest, most efficient bartenders we've ever had (and we always eat at the bar).

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Davcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bambara Cambridge also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Bambara Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing