We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Everything”
Review of Cambridge Common

Cambridge Common
Ranked #71 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Connecticut
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average Everything”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were disappointed to find that everything at this restaurant was just average...the food, the service, the atmosphere, the cleanliness...all average. There are much better choices in this area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank panarama222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    67
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great beer list”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

They had a great selection of draft and bottled beer, as well as outdoor seating. We did not eat there, though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ashliejeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballybofey, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Jumping Restaurant in Cambridge”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

What a great place really buzzing with a cross-section of age groups - professionals, families, students, lecturers. Fast service and decent food. A great introduction to the US on our first night.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoydeJong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Massachusetts Avenue oasis for car-dependent visitors”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

After moving our son into his dorm, we balked at a $20 fee to park in a garage for the rest of the day (since we wanted to eat lunch and hit the road.) Cambridge Common has a parking lot in the rear which was the reason we chose it, but the service and food were very good too. There is a great variety of craft beers, all offered as an option in a road-friendly 9 oz size for those who prefer it. Outdoor tables on Mass Ave are a treat; the inside is dark and pub-like. The daily specials recommended by our waiter were excellent. Sauteed fish was done perfectly. Future visits will take us to the appealing chaos of the Harvard Square area, but with the handicap of a car and tired bodies this was a great choice.

Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, KY
Level Contributor
510 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Great selection of craft beers - and the burgers are good, too.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First, this is not a place for intimate conversation. It's lively and loud but not oppressively so. Friends took us here on our recent trip back to the Boston area. The selection of beers is huge, with a revolving set of (many) specials each night. If you can't decide which beer to try, get the sampler. The food is basic pub fare you'd find in many college towns in urban settings. We shared a basket of fried pickles and Mac & Cheese Bites. We all had a different burger for main course, with fries, of course. In spite of the noise, we were able to have good conversation over good food & drink. There's free(!) parking in the back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CovingtonCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambridge Common also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Cambridge Common? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing