We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem to visit again”
Review of Oleana

Oleana
Ranked #5 of 564 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Btw. Prospect & Columbia
Reviewed September 2, 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely dinner on the patio with foodie friends--every single bite was delicious and many were exceptional. Standout dishes were the Sultan's Delight and the Turkish Style profiteroles--I'd go back for that dessert alone! Prices are reasonable but portions are very small so it ends up an expensive evening, but definitely worth the splurge!

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Gaelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 203 of 759 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2016

Returning to Oceana after a long break, we were quickly reminded of why we wanted to dine again at this neighborhood staple. Though the restaurant has tables which are close, and it was warm the night we were there, as was the water they served, the food is well worth it. Mostly small plates with unusual ingredients and spices, in the middle-eastern style, there are many interesting dishes to try. Our group of 4 ended up ordering about 14 dishes before we tried dessert. There is a wine list of reasonable and inexpensive wines, which will please most everyone. There is no hard liquor served, but there are some interesting cocktails. If you are in the area, do stop by and enjoy a tasty evening at Oleana.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank love2trave09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

I looked forward to this meal after reading many reviews over the years. The atmosphere was pleasant and we were seated immediately in a nice table with a view of the kitchen.
We ordered a variety of mezes. The highlights were the warm humus and the Sultan's delight and the Spinach Falafel. Others were tasty but the presentation was sloppy. Octopus and calamari just thrown in the dish.
Main dishes were a disappointment. Should have stuck with more mezes. Again presentation is part of the experience and the fish just thrown on the plate.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

As others have said, creative cuisine, mediterranean influence. Had dinner on their patio on a lovely summer evening. Service was good, food was excellent. Had a variety of meze to start - outstanding was brocolli with tahini sauce and pine nuts, heirloom tomatoes with green goddess dressing and a wonderful drink, medea; rose wine and lemonaide with basil. Had chicken with cheese pancakes, delicious chicken with sesame seeds and spices on top of thin pancakes filled with herbed cheese. Good bread basket as well..and deserts were great; especially the caramel covered cream puffs, also had baked alaska which was sweet but excellent. Food was inventive, outstanding in flavor and just perfect. We will return for sure. Servings are not large so be aware of this.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

We made a reservation for 5:45, 15 min after they open. Patio seating was full already and we had to wait for an inside table, because they did not have enough menus! This was strange the least and first time we encountered such a problem in a restaurant. But the food was unique. We ordered from the appetizer menu only. There were 3 of us and we had 6 different dishes followed by 2 desserts. All dishes were unique in their flavors, taste and presentations. They use spices and flavors from Africa and middle east to create delicious dishes. Would definitely go again when in Cambridge.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mina50952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleana also viewed

 

Been to Oleana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.