We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”
Review of Oleana

Oleana
Ranked #2 of 628 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Btw. Prospect & Columbia
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Outstanding! We made a reservation 6 weeks in advance and so glad we did!

We started with the deviled eggs and walnut and sesame fatayer mezes. The deviled eggs were light, perfectly seasoned, and delicious. The walnut and sesame fatayer was equally delicious with celery root slaw and carrot puree (not really, but I can't remember what it actually was).

BF got the lamb, which was ground, kebab'd, and served with pita, sauteed veggies, and a yogurt sauce on top. It was tender, well seasoned, and well, delicious. I got the special entree - pan seared scallops with sauteed greens, sweet potato fritters and a mandarin sauce. It was OUT OF THIS WORLD - melted in your mouth, perfect blend of favors and spices.

And dessert was the milk chocolate tahini tart with halvah ice cream. YUM!

This review is not articulate, but I'm still salivating about the amazing, fresh, healthy, and perfectly prepared food. Go (with a reservation - it's tough to walk in and get a table)! You will not regret it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OneSavvyTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    118
    44
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Amazing flavors and taste combinations”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are big food snobs and were not expecting something amazing from a place in Boston (we are more of NYC kind of people lol:) I found Oleana to be simply wonderful. The use of herbs and spices is fabulous and I loved almost every dish (we had 5 different meze and dessert). The lebne yogurt with mint (while sounded kind of boring) was perfectly spiced. The Sultan's delight with side of eggplant left us scrubbing the plate clean. Spicy sardines were very good. We ended with a simple cremolata (almond milk ice cream thing)- we tasted clean, fresh and full of roasted almond flavor. Would love to come back next time we are in Boston.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ilasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“may not be the best, but definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Oleana is often considered as one of the best restaurants in Boston. IMHO, may not be the best, but definitely worth a visit. We had a late dinner with a friend on Thursday evening. The place was packed and we had to wait for 10-15 minutes even though we had a reservation. Food was very decent. It was quite late already and we only took a few appetizers (Meze). Don't remember all of them, but spicy sardines and stuffed squid were superb, when quails were slightly overcooked to my taste. For wine, we choose Rhone (one of the cheapest wines from the list) and it was ok. The price was on pair with similar places in Boston. Nice dinner after all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fine Cuisine out of the Middle Eastern Tradition”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just celebrated my birthday at Oleana, and it was terrific. There is something very comfortable about it, despite the densely arranged tables and space. The service was if anything TOO attentive, and the food came soon but not quite too soon. The lamb manti appetizer was the best thing, but the felafel, the duck salad, the trout, the chicken were all lovely. The bread was divine, and was quickly replenished, and great for dipping in the flavorful sauces.

I highly recommend this place, and plan to return to it soon. I'd heard it was very expensive, but it's no more than other high-end places in Cambridge, and perhaps a bit less. A FULL meal, with appetizers, entrees, desserts, and two bottles of wine came to just under $100/person.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing dining experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Oleana is definitely a memorable experience. The service is friendly and the food is incredible. We ordered four appetizers, including the fluke nayeh with preserved lemon and crispy potatoes, sardines with meyer lemon mousse, the duck salad special, and quail with a baharat, bar berries, and pistachio crust. All of it was excellent, but the nayeh and quail were favorites for both of us. Even the bread was served with very high-quality olive oil with a peppery finish.. everything is done well here, with a lot of attention to detail. We'd come back again, for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oleana also viewed

 

Been to Oleana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing