We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service, nice atmosphere...whole package”
Review of Craigie on Main

Craigie on Main
Reserve with OpenTable
Craigie on Main is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 629 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main St. and Mass. Ave
Transit: Central Square T Stop, the No. 1 bus at the Main Street stop
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
272 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Good food, great service, nice atmosphere...whole package”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I dined at Craigie on Main with family in early October. We had reservations, which was good as the restaurant was packed. The service was great. We were advised to see if their special hamburgers were available when we arrived -- I gather they only do about 20 a night and serve them in the bar. We had bar seating and immediately asked about a burger when we arrived. There was one left. I'm so glad we asked and that we got to experience it -- split three ways among the table -- it was a great burger. On top of that we had some interesting choices, including bone marrow and pig's tail. We also enjoyed great fresh lobster, a combination pork dish and a fish dish. All terrific. A decent selection of wines. Good desert too. All in all a very good experience. I'm glad we went... as we were talking about it all the next day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    113
    55
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Not as good as we expected”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Family members suggested Craigie on Main. They go frequently, rate it as one of Boston's best. Maybe our expectations were too high but we felt Craigie on Main did not quite hit the right notes. The food was good, not great. The menu was interesting but possibly a little too cute for its own good (read other comments and check for sample menus on line; uncommon ingredients are sometimes uncommon for a reason). The service was excellent but seemed strangely intrusive; we weren't looking to be entertained. The tables were small and very close together and the atmosphere was noisy. The prices were high, even by Boston/Cambridge standards.
We'll freely admit that it could have been a bad night, for Craigie and for us. We didn't share our opinions with our family members; they continue to go there and love it. We just felt that everyone - wait staff, chefs, other diners, friends, family - expected that we would be so grateful to have snagged a reservation and dine there that we would fall in line, be very impressed and become converts. It just didn't work out that way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GusRobinWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A top 5 dining experience, hands down”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Delicious food, attentive waitstaff, unique menu with many choices ... too hard to chose. Lots of ingredients etc. that were foreign to me but staff did a nice job of explaining things. A perfect night

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bos2nTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Food was outstanding. Service was top-notch. Great beers and wine to choose from. Great cocktails listed with unusual ingredients.

Many tables seemed not so private - I'm glad ours was secluded a bit.

My only complaint would be the prices. I had a great meal - but I spent more money than I've ever spent on a dinner for two. They obviously have demand and food to back it up. It will have to be a very special occasion for me to be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkInBoston10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth getting a reservation excellent experience”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent meal, service. Space a little tight but overall wonderful. Food was creative and interesting

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MUGARBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigie on Main also viewed

 

Been to Craigie on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing