We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in casual setting”
Review of Craigie on Main

Craigie on Main
Ranked #16 of 627 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main St. and Mass. Ave
Transit: Central Square T Stop, the No. 1 bus at the Main Street stop
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food in casual setting”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Tasting menu was great. Nice but not extensive wine selection . You can do entrees rather than pricier 6 or8 course seasonal tastings. Many interesting choices. We loved smoked bluefish and veal chop courses in our tasting. We had nice wines fairly priced- a chassagne Montrachet with early courses than a 2005 brunello di montalcino with the heavier ones. A fun del maguey mescal flight with desert- single village mescals- casual dress and ambience but top tier food

Helpful?
Thank Reovirus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    112
    55
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Commerce Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Wow! What a fabulous meal!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was one of the best meals we have ever had! We did the 8 coarse tasting menu and the chef did not disappoint. Every coarse was delicious and the staff was very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Craigie on Main a small superb dining experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Craigie on Main in Cambridge MA has about 50 seats in the restaurant and another 20 or so at the bar. This open kitchen restaurant provides excellent food and service.

I have dietary restrictions and called to see what I could get with out salt or sugar. The hostess checked with the chef and came back and told me that the chef suggested a menu including a salad, steak and a sorbet for dessert.

The salad was wonderful, the steak cooked to perfection and the sorbet topped off a great evening.

The service was tops as just when you thought you needed more water, a server was there pouring an additional glass for you.

A great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
283 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“In My Top 10”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Creatively prepared cuisine using local ingredients, impeccable service, and an energetic ambience are all part of the dining experience at this amazing neighborhood restaurant. Our 3-course prixe fixe meal included the fried pig tails, Vermont pork three ways, sea bass, and fried clams. All were layered with textures and a terrific depth of flavor. No one ingredient dominates, leaving you to savor every single bite. Their meals are the type that leave you depressed only because they have to end...

An open and lively kitchen welcomes you as you walk through the door, and the dining room - which is never empty - has a pleasant buzz. It can be loud at times, but never overwhelming. The service is fast, efficient, and non-intrusive. Servers are very knowledgeable and are able to answer all questions with obvious expertise.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mthom100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Food is amazing, service needs to catch up.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Be prepared for interesting food choices with great flavors. I thought about trying the pig head, but thankfully it wasn't available the night I was there. We would have done the tasting menu, but one of the party is a vegetarian, so we opted for three courses and dessert. First, the table appetizer was bone marrow. First (and probably last) time I have had bone marrow served as the main part of a dish. 3 large half bones presented with four pieces of toast. Not quite the right ratio. We ate about 1/4 of serving and decided to wait for our appetizers, which were perfect. I had the pig tails, which were tasty and meaty. Tremendous surprise after the marrow. I followed that up with pork- three ways. Again great. We all sampled from each other's plates and found every meal unique and full of flavor--all very bold.

Our minimal food complaints were limited vegetarian options and dessert was average. Our major complaint was the service was snootier than the price tag. Our party included two college students that the server ignored. Kind of a shame as the restaurant has a clean, modern, busy feel to it and serves tremendous food, but our server made me certain I will try other places before I return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rovingambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigie on Main also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Craigie on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing