We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding service and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salts

Salts
Ranked #227 of 596 Restaurants in Cambridge
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you want the best of food and service, go to Salt. It is a restaurant where one is served like few places do today. The food is very creative and delicious.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    14
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

According to Tripadvisor this is the most exepnsive restaurant in Cambridge MA. This is probably right but you get what you pay for. The quality and presentation of the food was excellent, as was the atmosphere and service.

For the mains, GET THE DUCK! It sounds expensive at $68 for 2 people, but it was brought out whole, and it was a big duck. Great quality meat, not fatty at all. Lovely flavor.

Shame I didn't get a photo of the duck, but I have one of one of our entrees, a delectable goat cheese and beet salad.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Salts is Sweet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Organized a group dinner at this restaurant where I had been reminded what true hospitality is! The owners are the brain and heart that make the whole experience memorable. Bravo to them! From the preparation to the delivery, an impeccable A+! For a group of 25-27, this is THE place to plan an event in Cambridge - you basically rent the entire space and the place becomes yours! There is room to have cocktails and passed hors d'oeuvres and then sit down for a delicious meal.

In choosing this restaurant, I believe I've interviewed about 15-20 restaurants which essentially wanted to use "my way or the highway" concept in "negotiating" a scenario for a memorable night. All those who use unskilled or untrained sales people to "sell" space for groups (and not culinary experiences) should take lessons from this small yet most passionately group.

Bravo!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Did they forget about us?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We were underwhelmed....we were there 45 minutes before ordering.

There seemed to be only one waitress and any time we tried to get her attention she looked like a deer in the headlights. The owner comes out and greets you which is a nice touch but honestly, I'd rather have quicker, more consistantly attentive service. We basically had to ask the busboy to get out waiter when we wanted wine, when we were ready to order and when we wanted the check. I don't even think we had a waiter because each time the owner came out.

We arrived at 8:30 and at 10pm we still hadn't gotten our food. This was the blatantly worst service I've ever had at a restaurant. There were no apologies or even excuses for the bad service like "We're short on servers tonight". No, everyone just had smiles on their faces as they moved at a snail's pace.

The food was just ok, nothing was spectacular. The sturgeon was too salty, the beet appetizer was good, not great. We wanted dessert, I always order dessert, but knew it would add an hour onto to our night and we had already been there two hours so we asked for the check. Very disappointing!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessicaj2940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Fare and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had the stuffed duck for two and thoroughly enjoyed it.
Very nice wine selection ((California wine). Attentive service but not overdone.
Mid week visit so not crowded, quiet atmosphere.
Parking on the street (metered) only (no Valet) so plan a few more minutes.
Great local find>

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dadsmgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salts also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Salts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing