We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place for breakfast or lunch near MIT!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tatte Cambridge

Tatte Cambridge
Ranked #2 of 47 Coffee & Tea in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: phone 6173544200
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast or lunch near MIT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Meandering near Kendall Square, my companion and I were delighted to happen upon this beautiful Parisian -style bakery/cafe. So many pleasant sensations, from the sight of white tulips on every table to the Copperplate style numerals on the order numbers to the gorgeous cakes and buns and croissants. Waiting for our breakfast, we were seated with Israelis, Argentinians, and various MIT grad students... Everyone in the neighborhood congregates here. Delicious food, beautiful atmosphere, and crowded (in a good way!) shared tables. Definitely recommend this place if you are visiting MIT.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    42
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“French country brunch - loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

I was in the mood for some bakery this past Sunday and a chance to read a book, so I hopped in the car and honestly drove up and down Mass Ave and parts of Arlington, back into Boston, around Charles St - trying to figure out where to go. When I missed the turn onto Charles St and found myself back on the bridge to get into Cambridge, I figured someone was telling me something -- no pastry for you..

And then on my way back home (East Cambridge), I passed Tatte on 3rd St. If I could have stopped in the middle of the road - I would have. But I parked, and walked in thinking it would be packed. There were some MIT students but plenty of seating and the bakery was incredible.

I grabbed a belgian hot cocoa, a cup of marscapone and strawberries, and a blueberry muffin for later. I hung out for about an hour - sitting at what looked like an old farmer's table, with milk bottles full of white tulips. Seriously? Am I dreaming?

I will most definitely be back. There are lunch and brunch items on the menu as well - still as yet to be discovered for me. Really love the cozy atmosphere and the aroma - is amazing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ninska_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unbelievably Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This place is phenomenal. The food is incredible - I had the Savory Tatin and it was to die for. My friend had the quiche- also delicious. Decor is delightful - french styled bakery with vintage bread shelves and sweet cafe tables.

Highly recommend for very pleasant brunch/lunch experience, and reasonably priced deliciousness in Kendall.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lauragp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“High-quality baked goods and lovely cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

In typical foodie form, I've now visited this cafe four times in the past week. Needless to say, I'm a fan! First, the vibe is lovely and conducive to sitting down to a long lunch with friends. Great decor, rustic chic. The baked goods are pretty spectacular- I've tried the cinnamon pecan rose (like a cinnamon roll that exploded), brownie (dark and luscious), and apple tart (perfectly puffed). Their bread is excellent; I've had the breakfast sandwich, and also the roast beef for lunch. So far haven't gone wrong- all very high-quality and fresh. Delicious pear juice and mint lemonade. Quick and friendly service. I'll be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just great food and drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

The place is in Kendall Square, a very hip neighborhood, with many restaurant and cafe's. I loved the way it looks and the outside seating. Since it's mostly a bakery, all the cakes looks great. But the real great thing about this place, is the food. It's so creative, and such a big celebration of all senses. Just perfect. We had little cookies, which I can't remember the name, but it was sensational, and a creambo cake. Everything was interesting and so much different that the "usual" starbucks pastries. The salad we had was great too. I think it's also fairly priced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyCat990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatte Cambridge also viewed

 
Cambridge, MA
 

Been to Tatte Cambridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing