We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of West Bridge - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
West Bridge
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hampshire Street and Portland Street
Transit: West Bridge is near the MBTA Kendall Square Red Line station, as well as the Number 85 and CT2 bus lines.
Description: New England fare with a French twist. This restaurant opened sometime around May 15, 2012.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Four of us went to West Bridge for dinner on Sunday of Labor Day week end. The meal was very good as was the service. When we arrived, the restaurant was not terribly busy, but it filled up as we ate our meal. I know that others have complained about the noise level, and to be truthful, there is nothing in the space to muffle sound, but we didn't have any problem hearing our dining companions even when it was pretty busy. Our server was very good, attentive without hovering. We all enjoyed the food; the small plates with which we started our meal were tasty were all of reasonable size. Two of us had the special of the evening which was Hake and two of us had the duck off the printed menu and we were all satisfied and happy with what we ordered.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
158 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

It seems they are still getting the kinks worked out. The space is WAY too noisy - can't even have a conversation without yelling which makes it worse. The food was very good, but they ran out of things which our waiter tells us happens frequesntly - not good for fairly early on a Saturday evening. I'll give it a try again in a few months. The waiter, though was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mizzelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very loud and extremely good. A celebrationof local flavour and seafood combined with interesting textures makes for a welcome n”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Egg in a jar was cute as well as being wonderfully flavoured with hen of the woods mushrooms. Sweetbreads were perfectly executed and the locally caught white striped bass was absolutely delicious

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank unprocessed_cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
287 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wanted to love this restaurant, but....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I arrived with high hopes having read great reviews. Two minutes after we got there our waiter said you have to hurry and order because we have a big party coming, so ended up feeling rushed. Put in drink orders and food. My first course arrived well before my drink and the waiter seemed put out when I commented that I was feeling rushed. Drink was fabulous as was the egg in the jar. You have to try it. House water was either still or sparkling, nice touch. My sweetbreads were ok, nothing special. My husband's scallops were good, but had the addition of one unattractive, straggly, fishy smelling clam, weird. Noise level was outrageously loud, impossible to hear and talk. Not high on my list for restaurants to go back to. There are better in boston/cambridge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Interesting food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Really enjoyed our family dinner at West Bridge. We stumbled upon it on a Friday night, and were pleased to see that while they were busy, they had available tables right by the window. Our server was great and funny, and we loved the diversity of the menu. The different size plates are perfect for sharing, mixing and matching. We ordered a starter, a single entree, and a shared entree, as well as dessert. It was all delicious. Very well prepared, interesting flavors and combinations. I'd love to keep going back to see how the menu changes seasonally!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Bridge also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing