We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent small hotel but nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Decent small hotel but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

This review is for the "contemporary rooms." I guess there are Victorian rooms as well and they may be nicer. First the good news: I used to live in Davis Square and was back in town visiting friends, so Cambridge House's location could not be better. It's right on Mass Ave., just a few blocks from Davis. That said, for an inn that looked very charming from the outside, our room was surprisingly generic. It was clean and well-furnished, but we may as well have been staying in a Days Inn. The bed was not the most comfortable, either. It was fine for one night and we got a reasonable rate on Priceline.com, but I wouldn't necessarily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponchoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    39
    28
    18
    6
See reviews for
31
50
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton,NJ
Level Contributor
173 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Our daughter had just moved to Boston and the Cambridge House was within walking distance of her new apartment. I had just driven my daughters' car from San Diego to Boston. My wife had taken the train from Jersey to Boston to meet me there. We were very excited to be together again. The Cambridge House was a total disappointment.

The man who checked us in had the personality and likeability of a clam.

There are two houses next door to each other. One is supposely Victorian decor and the other modern. We were in the modern part. The room was tiny,the bathroom was a joke. We did have a nice view of the parking lot. When I went to shower there was a large clump of black hair on the mat in the shower. We hadn't used it yet.

Went to get coffee early the next morning, there was coffee but nothing else in sight. I went back later for more coffee and there were pastries and maybe some fruit. Didn't try any of it.

There is nothing special about this place. It's a totally for profit operation. Would not return, ever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

McLean, VA
Level Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

We spent Labor Day weekend at the A Cambridge House Inn, which calls itself a B&B. Having stayed at quite a few, mostly in New Orleans, we were expecting the same outgoing friendliness and personal touch from the owners we've found elsewhere. That was completely lacking here. It really is more of a small hotel with personal interaction and touches completely missing. Even the staff who sat in the front office barely acknowledged you. Having said all that, the building itself is very pretty and well-maintained. Location is terrific- walking distance from Porter and Davis Squares. Our room was small and completely overdecorated, but still charming. It was dominated by a canopy bed, and the room itself had matching bedding, wallpaper and lampshades. The bathroom was small and missing small touches like a place to put the soap in the showere, enough towel racks, and minimal counter space. The smoke alarm woke us up in the middle of the night saying the battery was low, and no one answered the phone at the desk. The food was the second biggest disappointment. Perhaps it's unfair to compare it to New Orleans, but breakfast was simply a continental one with store-bought baked goods of varying edibility, coffe, cereal, juice and two plates of completely inedible not-yet-ripe fruit.
Previous reviewers had said you need to call to arrange for a guaranteed room in the main building. Those 15 rooms are all decorated in colonial-era styles, and the rooms in the building next door are all modern. It was not inexpensive- ran about $200/night including taxes. We did expect a better breakfast for that rate. If you want a nice room in a great location, I would recommend it. If you're looking for a charming B&B, I would not.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swimmom1dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

I enjoy B & B's. I have stayed in a few throughout the northeast and have enjoyed the more personal touches that they offer. This one had none. The young woman who checked me in was unfriendly. She never once said "welcome" or "are there any suggestions you need for your stay--restaurants or directions." The room was acceptable. The towels, bed linens and furniture were very basic and more appropriate for a college apartment than a hotel. I will be in Cambridge often over the next 4 years and will not be coming back to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJNfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

The room was perfect! The location great. The people very charming et welcomming! I recommand the place to every one: it's not expensavie et it's perfect, near the T, good restos, and principal attractions! Across the street there is a great market: bio, traiteur, etc!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LyneDeschamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Stayed here this past weekend for the first time. We were in a Loft Room. The room itself was fine. However, since they put these waterproof mattress covers on the mattresses, without also using appropriate mattress pad and sheets that fit, the whole bed comes untucked and you wake up to find yourself sleeping on vinyl. Really--management needs to correct this. The other complaint I have is with the breakfast. It really was not very good. The pastries were stale and seemed about equivalent to what they sell at BJ's Wholesale Club; there was no yogurt or fresh cut fruit (only whole unripe pears and apples). They offer bagels (stale ones), but have no toaster. One of the other guests asked about a toaster and the woman acted as though she didn't understand English. Finally--we didn't get a very warm or welcoming feeling upon arrival and we had to ask for additional towels because even though we had reserved and paid the additional fee for our daughter to be in the room, they only gave us two sets of towels. Go to the Mary Prentiss Inn instead for a much more positive B&B experience. We would have stayed there but they were booked.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seacoastcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

Cambridge b&b is by far the best bed and breakfast my wife and i have stayed in, in quit awhile. The breakfast isn't anything to rave about but there are plenty of places within walking distance to accomadate you. The rooms are meticulous, clean all over, bathrooms are worthy of a 5 star alone. Bed was great. Staff is friendly and helpful, the location is great for walking, the T is just down the street in Porter Square. It's safe to walk around at night. Unlike Boston not to much traffic. Great entertainment and restaurants. All in all it was a great experience for us. My wife shopped and I revisted my old college romps. A great time all around. We definately will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsacjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.4 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tria
Hotel Tria
#15 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#13 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Veritas
Hotel Veritas
#5 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Property: A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Address: 2218 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian. We now have two buildings; the rooms in one are contemporary decor, the other Victorian. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our Victorian rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing