We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Website pictures can be deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Ranked #6 of 21 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'll just be blunt here. My husband and I arrived about 7 pm after a day of travel from Los Angeles. Looked is expected from the outside, but one look inside the main rooms, followed by seeing the "traditional" room to which we were assigned, well, I came close to crying. We were booked for three nights.

I can only speak for the room we were assigned, which was so small it could only accommodate a double bed or smaller. There was no dresser, and only one small desk chair. The closet was crafted from a corner of the room. The only place to put our suitcases was on top of a small refrigerator and a small nightstand-type table placed perpendicular to the refrigerator.

Not sure why we were assigned a room for the physically challenged. We are seniors, but not in need of accessible accommodations. If I was in need, this room would still be unsatisfactory. The place where wall meets floor in the shower appeared unclean and moldy. When showering, and yes, we did stay one night due to tiredness, the water flowed into the bathroom soaking the bath mat.

The room had an odor that I can only describe as faint urine.

The bed had what seemed to be a plastic liner that caused noise when either of us moved.

Here's the good thing. My husband found other accommodations, so we knew we'd be out first thing in the morning. When my husband politely, but firmly, told the desk clerk we were checking out early and why, our money for all three nights was refunded in full. I wonder if that had anything to do with the customer waiting in line behind my husband?

Room Tip: Homewood Suites is north of Cambridge House Inn about a mile or so. Though not a B&B, I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACambridgeHouse, Manager at A Cambridge House B & B Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

We are sorry you were not at all happy with your room however, when you made the reservation with us in September you were told we had two buildings; one with Victorian decor and one with Contemporary decor. You selected a contemporary room. There are sample pictures of both our Victorian and Contemporary rooms on our site; our pictures are not at all deceiving. Upon your arrival and seeing the room you were welcome to speak to the front desk staff and ask if a Victorian room was available; we would have happily moved your reservation to another room. You did choose to stay the night. Yes; the bathroom is handicap accessible and is why it is quite large and the water from the shower flows towards the drain, not the bathroom area. Also, the room you were in, although not a huge room, is adequate in size which has a queen size bed, two night stands, a full-size desk & chair, small cabinet, and refrigerator as well as a closet (there is a suitcase stand in the closet).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 130 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed several nights visiting our daughter who lives nearby. We stayed in the "contemporary" building.

The contemporary building was clean and well maintained, but lacked the atmosphere of the main B&B. Our room was quite large and had a balcony. Would have bit nice to have a "comfy" chair to relax in as there was plenty of room for it. Also, the TV is a bit undersized for the room, only a little bigger than a computer monitor. A big positive was that the room was very quiet, considering that the hotel is on Mass Ave. We were in a room on the back side of the building, so I'm not sure if all the rooms are as quiet.

Breakfast was continental style and was well stocked.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Contemporary building are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSWroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located a few miles from the City center, provided with own car park, this B & B can allow a visit to the City avoiding the heavy traffic and at the same time to Cambridge.
The MBTA underground is close to it, 300 mt not more.
Rooms are reasonably sized, the bathrooms are also large.
The breakfast, fairly complete for american B & B standards, is served in a traditional leaving room.
I recommend to reserve a room in the old building, that is the older part of the building.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigbang56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Pros: 1- on site parking, 2- establishment is clean and well maintained, 3- breakfast was pretty good, with fresh fruit, breads, cereals, and pastries - no eggs or meats, 4- the woman at the desk when checking in/out, was warm and friendly and quite helpful
The Cons: 1- our room, in the contemporary wing, was VERY small (however, I did see that others were quite large), 2- location isn't the greatest.......Parker Square is about 5 blocks walking and Harvard Square another 8-10, and Central Square another 8-10....there is very little in the immediate neighborhood, 3- 3pm check-in and 11am check-out, 4- uncomfortable bed and uncooperative a/c
Given the price and miniscule size of our room, I can't give the Inn more than an average rating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The first night I arrived the fellow on the desk was very unhelpful and abrupt, in fact, rude. When I left, I asked him if he could call a cab for me, and he said innkeepers weren't allowed to call a cab for customers so I'd have to call me own, which I did, incurring long distance charges from my cell phone.

Because I was on a longish trip I had to go back. The second stay introduced me to a very helpful front desk person, but the room hadn't been cleaned well and there were dead bugs along the baseboard and a spiderweb in the corner. The fellow at the desk put me in a new room right away, and Andrea, the manage gave me a discount. (She's wonderful). However the place needs a good cleaning from top to bottom and certain members of the staff really need a course in customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieWills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were in town for 2 days for a baseball game. Our room, while small, was very clean with a private bath. Breakfast was more than adequate. Only a 10 minute walk to the "T". I would highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetMarie_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband and I like to frequent Boston when we can and usually stay in the City proper. However, friends of ours recently moved to Cambridge and we wanted a place close to them so that we could celebrate New Years. The Cambridge House Inn was a compromise of charm and price. The room was comfortable but not anything special, although I must say having a working fireplace in the room was a nice treat in early January. It's a B&B so there is compromise on what would be considered modern amenities i.e. the TV was small and the bathroom equally so. However, the price and location more than make up for any defects in the room: it's a short walk over to Davis Square with plenty of great restaurants, nightlife, and a T Stop which provides access to the City.

Room Tip: I recommend staying in the original 19th Century Building and possibly requesting a room on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyalHistoryLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.4 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 19 in Cambridge
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
55 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#6 of 19 in Cambridge
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston Cambridge-Arlington
2.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
991 reviews
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Address: 2218 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $169 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian. We now have two buildings; the rooms in one are contemporary decor, the other Victorian. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our Victorian rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing