We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and well located for visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Ranked #6 of 21 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed in a Victorian room on 1st floor of main house on a Wed and Thur. Very enjoyable stay. B&B staff are very nice and accomodating. Had and shared local knowledge freely. Continental breakfast was good, but nothing to rave about. It was well-presented and plenty of seats. The Inn has plenty of parking off the busy Mass Ave. The room was kind of dark which made for great sleeping but challenging for other activity. Multiple windows had individual shutters which could be adjusted for more or less light. If light was important I would ask Sam about rooms on upper floors for your stay.
The bed was quite firm. OK for me, my partner likes a soft and cuddly bed. The linens and pillows were very nice and felt soothing. No problem with bed squeeks or movement noises.
Window AC in room. Noise was not a problem, temp control was adequate.
Bathroom was a comfortable size and well lit. Very clean for such an old in-city property. Good sized common space in lounge which serves as breakfast area. Coffee available all day and was fresh and hot. Being Boston it had a city vibe which is different from Virginia. If you are looking for a chummy B&B experiance with socializing with people you have not met- you may not find it here. If looking for that you may want to locate a common-table family style served bfst location. For us the vibe suited us fine.
Newspapers include the daily Bos Globe, NY Times, and USA Today.
Fast and dependable wireless internet.
Room was very quiet, although practically adjoining the lounge, we heard no travel noise any time of day, yet the place was active with guests and staff.
Beautiful front porch on main house, nice seating to watch the movement on Mass Ave. Two easy trips to subway. Red Line T at Porter Square and at Davis Square. We used Davis Square which is a quick walk across Mass Ave and down Day St then to the left. From there you can get to anywhere in the city.
Enjoyed the stay and will seek it again for personal or business trips. Felt like good value for the $ considering location, amenities, and free parking.

Room Tip: Call Sam and describe your needs, he can guide you to the right room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vafedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

I might have lost valuables in this hotel, which I hope is only an isolated case. But please let me know if this is not.

This is my worst ever experience with a hotel: telephone was hung up twice when I simply asked about policy regarding lost valuables. Anyone has similar experience with "A Cambridge House B & B Inn"?

They also have bad free wifi for my room, and very old bedding. My room is near to the front door of the house I live, and noise will wake me up whenever people come in and out.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near a front door of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Comfortable, well-appointed rooms. Good breakfast, welcoming staff. Only problem was that in the awful heatwave, the air conditionner blew directly on the bed.
Easy access to bus and the T.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is my 4th stay at this B&B. If you don't need a gourmet breakfast, this is an ideal B&B. The staff is friendly. The rooms are clean. The air conditioner worked great. (We didn't use the fireplace. But in the winter, I have.) There is free access to a computer in the living room, where I was able to print my boarding passes.
You can walk to Harvard Sq (1.5 miles) or catch the bus right in front of the B&B. To get to other places in Boston, you take a short walk to Porter Sq (Red Line). Very easy to get around.
There a lots of restaurants in the neighborhood: Chinese, Greek, Ethiopian, Tibetan, bar-grill, bagels, frozen yogurt. Across the street is Pemberton Farms, which is a supermarket with sandwiches, salad bar, cookies, chocolate, etc.
At Porter Square, there is a Bally Fitness at $10/day guest pass to work off all the yummy foods. Best to bring a lock for the locker, except Master brand which the manager said someone has a master key for. The Bally Fitness is inside the Lesley University building. There is no sign outside but inside there is a row of inexpensive, wonderful Japanese restaurants, serving large bowls of noodles, sushi, etc. At the pastry shop, try the ice cream mochi. It is ice cream with a rice flour cover. Let it warm up and soften a bit first. Soooo good.
At Harvard Square, there are lots of restaurants. We went to Wagamama. There are branches all over the world. The first one we went to was in London.
For dessert, there is Finale on Dunster Street, Burdick Chocolate on Brattle Street. Right in the Square is J.P. Licks for ice cream. I had a mojito sorbet. Yum.
If you continue on from the Square, you can walk/jog/bike along the Charles River.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Although not very typically B&B-like, this is a very cozy property with clean, spacious rooms. I stayed in one of the "Contemporary Rooms," which is actually in an adjacent townhouse. The room has a comfortable bed and a very effective and quiet air conditioner. I'd consider the amenities more like those of a typical hotel, though, and not really a B&B: the breakfast is a continental breakfast, I never see any other guests except in the dining room in the morning, and there are not knickknacks on all the walls. All told, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My daughter and I were here for 4 nights while looking for grad school housing. The location is terific. It's a few blocks walk to Davis Square (T station). There are restaurants there and, even closer, there is greek, chinese, thai and oterhs surrounding the Inn. We enjoyed take-out in our room on two nights. We were in a contemporary room that was very large. The bathroom is small, but quite functional. The staf could not have been nicer so Ibeleive they have overcome issues you see in earlier comments. There are a number of choices for breakfast, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, juice, muffins, danish, etc with coffee and tea available any time. Also, parking is availalbe which is quite a plus for this area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Got a wonderfully large room in the new annex. It had a great window seating looking out over Massachusetts Avenue. Unfortunately, this also meant that there was a fair amount of traffic noise although it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ATLCanadian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.4 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 19 in Cambridge
88 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,026 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#15 of 19 in Cambridge
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 19 in Cambridge
2,113 reviews
1.5 mi away
Irving House at Harvard
Irving House at Harvard
#4 of 21 in Cambridge
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mary Prentiss Inn
Mary Prentiss Inn
#1 of 21 in Cambridge
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Address: 2218 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range: $134 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian. We now have two buildings; the rooms in one are contemporary decor, the other Victorian. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our Victorian rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing