We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to lots of restaurants and stores”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to lots of restaurants and stores”
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Got a wonderfully large room in the new annex. It had a great window seating looking out over Massachusetts Avenue. Unfortunately, this also meant that there was a fair amount of traffic noise although it didn't keep us awake.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATLCanadian56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    29
    17
    6
See reviews for
33
51
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The Inn was totally empty and we were given a room in their annex in the ugliest room that seemed to be an office meeting room with a bed thrown in, the bed itself was uncomfortable and I had to run the water for about 10 minutes before it lost the rusty yellow tone and smell. I actually requested to be moved to the main house and was told no there was no room. It was extremely quiet and my car was the only one in the lot.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Loridrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Timbuktu, Mali
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Spent two nights at A Cambridge House. Very comfortable room. Exceptionally clean bedroom and bathroom. Room came with a gas fireplace. Convenient location in north Cambridge, three blocks from the T. Lower prices than places closer to Harvard Square. Breakfast comprised of dry cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, and pastries so if you are looking for a hot breakfast you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howdydoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I stayed in the contemporary room. It was spacious and comfortable with the exception of the plastic wrapped mattress was a bit noisy.

As it was advertised as a B&B, I expected a full breakfast. What was available is boiled eggs, cereal and danish. And don't expect any coffee between 6am and 7am, there is none.

I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mymukah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We arrived late - our evening flight delayed over an hour. Our taxi pulled in just past minuted. The manager had clearly stayed awake just to check us in, and seemed eager to go sleep.

The "Victorian" room was small and basic. Barely enough room to move around, but cozy and functional nonetheless.

Cleanliness was sorely disappointing. Our first night, the sheets seemed unwashed, and mascara smudges, lipstick marks, and long black hairs could be found abound. We were too tired to complain our first night, but the next morning mentioned it to the manager. We arrived back that evening to find the sheets cleaned and nicely made, but when we pulled them back to go to bed we found those same long black hairs again. The tray at the side of the table was still covered in napkins and coffee stains from the previous occupants.

The bathroom, as large as the bedroom, was adequate, but disappointing. More like a hostel, there was no proper ledge in the shower, and only careful showering kept the spray from covering the entire floor with water. The shower curtains had black mold growing across the bottom couple of inches. And the bathroom as a whole was always freezing, or sweltering.

The breakfast was better than your average bed and breakfast. And the staff are a delight - the highlight of our stay.

Overall, this place was not worth the money, and the poor cleanliness means that we will not stay here again or recommend it to someone else.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank inthesuburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This review is for the "contemporary rooms." I guess there are Victorian rooms as well and they may be nicer. First the good news: I used to live in Davis Square and was back in town visiting friends, so Cambridge House's location could not be better. It's right on Mass Ave., just a few blocks from Davis. That said, for an inn that looked very charming from the outside, our room was surprisingly generic. It was clean and well-furnished, but we may as well have been staying in a Days Inn. The bed was not the most comfortable, either. It was fine for one night and we got a reasonable rate on Priceline.com, but I wouldn't necessarily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ponchoandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton,NJ
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Our daughter had just moved to Boston and the Cambridge House was within walking distance of her new apartment. I had just driven my daughters' car from San Diego to Boston. My wife had taken the train from Jersey to Boston to meet me there. We were very excited to be together again. The Cambridge House was a total disappointment.

The man who checked us in had the personality and likeability of a clam.

There are two houses next door to each other. One is supposely Victorian decor and the other modern. We were in the modern part. The room was tiny,the bathroom was a joke. We did have a nice view of the parking lot. When I went to shower there was a large clump of black hair on the mat in the shower. We hadn't used it yet.

Went to get coffee early the next morning, there was coffee but nothing else in sight. I went back later for more coffee and there were pastries and maybe some fruit. Didn't try any of it.

There is nothing special about this place. It's a totally for profit operation. Would not return, ever.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ABFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
0.4 mi away
Porter Square Hotel
Porter Square Hotel
#16 of 20 in Cambridge
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
AC Hotel Boston Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freepoint Hotel
Freepoint Hotel
#18 of 20 in Cambridge
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
1.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Boston/Cambridge-Arlington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Cambridge House B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Cambridge House B & B Inn

Property: A Cambridge House B & B Inn
Address: 2218 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02140-1836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Cambridge House B & B Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cambridge House B&B Inn is a lovely turn of the century Victorian. We now have two buildings; the rooms in one are contemporary decor, the other Victorian. All rooms are equipped with private baths and cable television. Many of our Victorian rooms have fireplaces; all rooms have air conditioning during the summer months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your A Cambridge House B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Cambridge House Bed And Breakfast Inn
a Cambridge House Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing