We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Luxury meets fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Savings - 15% Off
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury meets fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel has canoes and bikes available for guests. There is a beautiful and cozy area to just people watch in the lobby and relax. The hotel is only a short cap ride away from Boston city center. Right next to the hotel is a small mall which meets all regular shopping needs.
The rooms are just amazing. You are welcomed with a very funky leopard carpet which makes the room fun but its luxury as well. Everything you can imagine is available in your room from hair straightener to a city guide.
If you like modern hotels but you still need to have a touch of the old style luxury, visit this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reisende1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear Reisende1115,
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hotel Marlowe! It's great to hear that you found our rooms to be comfortable, fun, and stylish. Thank you for sharing your experience, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,197
    382
    79
    26
    14
See reviews for
425
536
93
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Marlowe to visit a potential business school in the Boston area, to visit a friend, and to go to a baseball game.

We flew into Boston on a red-eye flight from Los Angeles and were exhausted when we got in. We had requested early check-in if possible and they had warned us that it may not happen because they had a full hotel the night before. When we got to the hotel at 5:30am, they told us again that they were full but gave us a number to call to check if there any early check outs. We gave our bags to the front desk and they recommended some where for us to eat breakfast. We spent a few hours reading the newspaper and eating breakfast and came back at 9:30am with no expectation to get a room. They checked us in early at 9:30 and even made sure we still had a room with a view (as we originally requested).

Following the great experience checking in, every time we passed the front desk they were extremely friendly and even the housekeeping staff greeted us kindly as we passed them in the hallways. During our three days at the hotel, they gave us a number of great recommendations for restaurants and things to do and the hotel hosted wine hour was a nice touch. They made us feel like VIP guests and the service was excellent.

The room was comfortable and stylish although the bed was relatively normal. The overall hotel was also uniquely decorated and stylish.

The hotel is within walking distance of the green line and the red line for the T. We appreciated the ability to walk to the T and felt safe walking back to the hotel after midnight.

We completely enjoyed our stay and would love to go back. My only complaint is that they charged us for a $7.49 mini-bar item even though we didn't use the mini-bar. I called them and they immediately reversed the charge so no major issue there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieC91984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Marlowe. My room was clean and very comfortable. The animal decor was fun! Bambara offered a nice breakfast and lunch! I would reccommend the restaurant to others (the cheesecake factory is around the corner and was very busy during lunch, I don't understand why more of the people there don't wander over to Bambara) . The Hotel throws a great conference. Check in was easy, the conference room was nice, and breaks offered a great variety of snacks and beverages.

Overall a nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland OR
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Cambridge was one stop in a cross-country round trip my husband and I took with our two large dogs. While we didn't, by any stretch, do the trip on a tight budget, we kept to relatively moderately priced motels.... the Kimpton Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge was an exception. Our stay there was a mutual gift and while the one night cost as much as 2.5 nights in most of the other places we stayed, it was worth every dollar - a level of luxury and service we're completely unaccustomed to but one that we could learn to love if we our incomes were roughly double what they are now.

On arrival, the bellman on duty offered to keep our car in the courtyard near the front door for $30, payable in cash. We accepted happily because it meant easy and almost instant access when and if we needed to "store" the dogs for a short time (the car is their crate). Again, while it wasn't cheap, it turned out to be hugely helpful and worth it to us.

We hit the desk an hour earlier than we were supposed to. The clerk paused briefly, said that our assigned room (with some goodies included because we maintain a free Kimpton InTouch membership) wasn't ready. We were just offering to go for a stroll when he told us there would be no problem - he was moving us to another room and the goodies, including some fresh fruit and a pair of beds for the dogs would follow us to the room. They did, with remarkable speed.

The room was decorated in what we think of as Kimpton style... completely over the top but with a distinctly tongue-in-cheek, don't-take-us-that-seriously-because-we-don't style (faux leopard-skin robes and faux mink bed throws, anyone?). There was more room than we'd expected but the bed and bedding were exactly what we expected- luxurious and profoundly comfortable. Everything in the room, in fact, was top quality... and the towels were a special pleasure. The internet connection, vital to me, was as immediate and speedy as anything I've ever enjoyed.

Other examples of why the visit was such a rich pleasure: the bellman who brought our bags to the room asked the names of the dogs and remembered them the next morning when we went out for our walk. You have only to stand in the neighborhood of the desk and someone (even a manager) will ask if there's anything they can help with. The evening bartender at Bambara, the hotel restaurant, came to our rescue when our dinner plans fell apart. And the location, right on the Charles River, offers marvelous opportunities for walks along the water without crossing so much as a single busy street.

Next time we're going without the dogs and we're going to check out the Charles River boat tour (just around the corner from the hotel) and maybe even the in-room spa treatment offer... but that's next time. We've decided that our perfect 14th honeymoon vacation will be to arrive in Boston on a Friday night, head out to Cape Cod on Sunday, and return to the Marlowe the next Friday with a flight out on Sunday. It never hurts to have a goal, ya know?

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Commci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear Commci,
Thank you so much for sharing such a detailed review of your stay! It's great to hear that you had such a lovely visit with us, and I'm glad that everything met or exceded your expectations. We look forward to your 14th honeymoon visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Quick one night stay to conduct business in Boston. When all the downtown hotels were booked or outrageously priced, I chose the Marlowe across the river in Cambridge. Was lucky somehow to get a rate of $249 a night on the Kimpton website about 2 weeks in advance. That week, rates for the same room were doubled, so shop carefully.
Excellent service from beginning to end -- from checkin staff to housekeeping to checkout.
Wildly decorated rooms spiced up the business experience -- animal prints and bright colors. Very comfortable bedding, two heavy terry (animal print) robes in the room, complementary glass of wine on arrival, 24/7 gym facility. Walking distance to several excellent restaurant choices (go to the Helmand for fabulous Afghan food!) and shopping as well if you have time. The hotel also provides complementary bicycles and kayaks (it's right on the Charles river) if you have to partake -- which sadly, I did not. Coffee and tea in a lovely living room off the lobby in the morning; bar right there looked lively but pleasant, although I didn't get there either.
Only aspect needing some strengthening is the doorman, whose service and knowledge of the area, while adequate, was not on a par with the rest of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuakerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distributi0nManager, Manager at Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2010
Dear QuakerGal,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Hotel Marlowe and sharing your experience with other travelers. I'm glad we were able to spice up your business travel experience! We appreciate the feedback, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Booked into the Hotel Marlowe for a celebratory weekend based on its affordability relative to other upscale hotels in the Boston area. It's a little hard to find, so make sure you bring a map if you are driving.

The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are wonderful in a kitschy sort of way. (Think leopard print carpets and bathrobes, dramatic red and gold decor, oddly mixed with the occasional colonial detail.) The hotel is attached to a large shopping mall, if that's your thing, that can be accessed without setting foot outside. It is a quick train ride into Boston if you are going out for the evening.

Service was mostly good, although we attempted to order dessert from room service 10-15 minutes before it was supposed to shut down for the evening and they gave us the runaround, telling us they were in the middle of a shift change and they would call us back to take our order in a moment. Instead, the next shift called back 10 minutes later and said room service was closed for the evening! I could understand if we had been trying to order a meal as they were closing the kitchen, but surely someone could have delivered a couple of slices of cake to our room, or at the very least been honest about it in the first place. When we mentioned this to the front desk the next morning, they apologized, comped our parking, and offered us free breakfast coupons, so I am willing to write it off as a fluke.

The hotel is located right across the street from the Museum of Science and conveniently on the edge of town so that it is easy to get out of Boston. Not centrally located, but a nice place at a good price. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Burlingtonienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Very happy with our stay here. Could not find an obvious fault and would praise the following:
- Location: Not for every one as it's away from downtown, but is close to Harvard and the Museum of Science and is right next to a stop for one of the hop-on hop-off buses and water tours. Also fairly conveniently located near the subway and only a few stops from South Station.
- Staff: Polite, friendly and professional
- Restaurant: Our meals were delicious and our waiter was pleasant and polite and very helpful with respect to our dietary requirements
- Extras: Hotel offered complimentary wine 'tasting' for an hour in the evening and had a bar/restaurant happy hour.
- Pet friendly. If you're so inclined.
- Decor: very quirky, a lot of reds and leopard skin prints, but not tacky and kind of cool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercury_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Hotel Marlowe is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Marlowe - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing