We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and the extras are great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice place and the extras are great”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I was lucky enough to tag onto a family members business trip and stay here. The hotel was well kept and staff were nice. We had a great view of the river from our room which was spacious and clean.

All the little extras this hotel offers really set it off from the rest, free bike and kayak hire. If you forget any essentials they are happy to provide them free of charge (toothpaste, shaving cream, deodorant etc) free wine hour at night. Free coffee, tea and home made lemonade in the mornings.

Also another little gem about this place is that it is right next door to the Cambridge Plaza Mall, and even better has its own private access corridor in the hotel to the mall!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davinia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for the great feedback, so happy you got to add a little family time on to your stay with us! Thanks for pointing out all of the cool "extras" that we do for our guests!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,400
    436
    89
    27
    15
See reviews for
506
629
97
438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Special touches such as the welcome photo, the raid the bar coupon, the daily wine tasting and the funky animal print robes make this hotel menorable.
There are good quality bikes available at the entrance at no extra cost and they are adjusted to our heights. We appreciated this way to go about the city as there are numerous bike paths nearby. They also lend kayaks a few steps outside on the canal. Fresh coffee and fruity water are available in the lobby most of the day.

The bed was very comfortable and the service friendly. The view on the park on the eighth floor made for a scenic relaxing and very quiet room. I even did a yoga session with the in room complimentary yoga mat and video. How zen!

We were surprised by champagne and a fruit platter with chocolates awaiting us in the room the first evening as we had barely mentioned that this was a birthday getaway when asked the reason for our visit. That was amazing proof of true interest in servicing the guests.

The Marlow is a pet friendly hotel. There is in and out selfparking for 20$ next to a large mall. The science museum is just about across the street.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Well, this is great! Thanks for sharing your experience, I am so happy you took advantage of all of our fun "wellness" options!

Thanks for staying!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN, US
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a 10 night trip to Boston and Maine in mid-June. We got this hotel in a Hotwire deal and were very, very pleased. This hotel is near the top of hotels we've stayed ever. The room is definitely not your usual cookie-cutter hotel. There are lots of fun things about the room - the decor and the crazy printed (and very cozy) bathrobes stand out. The bathroom was not lacking for anything although note that the hair dryer is in the closet, not in the bathroom as you'd expect. My biggest complaint is pretty minor. It took 4-5 tries to get the TV to work each time (the picture would come on & freeze or it would turn on with no picture).

We were thrilled with a couple amenities that make the Hotel Marlowe special. The first were the complimentary bikes. The bellman (wish I knew his name) helped us select and set up the bikes to our liking. They have very nice road style bikes and "comfort" style bikes complete with helmets and locks. We were thrilled to hear we could take them for as long as we wanted and he gave us some great suggestions for riding. We spent the better part of a day riding along the Charles River, through MIT, through Harvard and back. It was a great way to really explore the area.

We also enjoyed the complimentary wine hour along with the strawberry lemonade and flavored waters in the afternoon and the morning coffee in the "living room" in the morning.

The location is a little out of the way. For those taking taxis everywhere (which seemed to be most people at the hotel), it's very close. For those of us taking the T, It is a 5-10 minute walk from the Lechmere station which is the end of the green line. It is a safe and enjoyable walk once you get away from the station. Be sure to take the path around the lagoon - much shorter than going all the way around the mall.

The employees were all very friendly. Every single employee said hello every single time whether we saw a cleaning person in the hallway or as we passed by the front desk. However, a special thank you goes to the bellman who made our stay so enjoyable. His friendly hello every time he opened the door but especially his assistance with the bikes made our stay!

I would love to stay here again!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you so much for this, it made me smile! I am so happy you took advantage of our bikes while you were here. It is such a great way to see the city, isn't it? Also, thank you for the kind words about the staff, I am lucky to have such great people here!

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed for a week when my son was running the marathon. The room was really comfitable and roomy. The staff were very attentive and helpful.
Tea & coffee available in the little lounge near the main entrance early in the morning.
The food in the restaurant was a little fancy for our tastes but the burgers were good, and there was plenty of choice for breakfast. Only 1 draught beer in the bar but we were told by the barman that this was being reviewed shortly after our visit in April.
The nearby shopping mall is only 5 minutes walk away & has a brilliant selection of shops.
The T train station Lechmere 10 minutes walk away which goes downtown & elsewhere, get a CHARLIE ticket for good value. Nice touch was a glass of bubbly for the marathon runners.

Room Tip: Would be nice to have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bron317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
The marathon was and is always a great event, hopefully your son did well! Thanks for sharing your experience and hope to see you next year!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have slept in many hotels and this one has the most home like feel. The room colors and decorations feel more like home rather than a rooms to go furniture display. The room service was delicious and fast. The hotel also provides a number of amenities that can make your experience so much better. Although it is not provided in the room, you can request a coffee maker which was a nice Keurig machine. The hotel also provides complimentary bikes and kayaks for guests to enjoy! This is prime since the hotel is located just across the street from the Charles river.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
You've hit the nail on the head! We try to treat every guest that comes to the hotel as though they were coming in to our own homes, so thanks for sharing your feedback!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great place to stay, quality is everywhere. Walking distance to downtown Boston (15 mins), close to a museum not to far from the Cambridge highlights. The staff was very attentive and everything is always clean and neat. Service at the bar wasn't as good as the hotel staff, but they have alot of choices. If you can swing it stay here, and take a leisurley walk down to Quincy market.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for the great review...I agree that walking to downtown Boston is the best option! Thanks for sharing!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed here for one night for business and was totally pleased. The staff was friendly and efficient, the rooms were very nicely kept and roomy and the general "perks" were vey nicely done. The WIFI worked very well. Having coffee available in the morning in the lobby was a very nice touch, and the doormen and desk staff were very prompt and friendly. I would definitely stay there again, and likely will!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfpollack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I appreciate it! It's hard to argue with excellence, so thanks for pointing it out!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
876 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
959 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,698 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
1,891 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing