We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog Friendly Boutique Hotel in East Cambridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and our dog stayed at the Hotel Marlowe from December 25 - 27, 2013. This was our first stay at a Kimpton Hotel and our third stay at a hotel in Massachusetts with our dog. The hotel is very dog friendly. They have two dogs bowls, one for water and one for treats, at the front door. Our room also had two dog bowls. There were a lot of dogs of various sizes staying at the hotel. We have a 12 pound shih tzu. The staff was very friendly, even those who found themselves working on Christmas Day. The hotel was clean from the lobby to the elevators to the corridors to the rooms. There was neither a dog smell nor a disinfectant smell. The hotel is next to Lechmere Canal Park, a good place to walk a dog. The hotel also provides doggie cleanup bags. The hotel does also have non-dog amenities. The room was a standard good sized hotel room with an interesting design scheme. There is a wine reception each evening in the lobby and coffee and tea each morning in the lounge. The hotel has a restaurant. We ate one breakfast, one lunch and one dinner at that restaurant. The food was very good, better than a typical hotel restaurant and akin to a stand along restaurant. There is free wi-fi for Kimpton Hotel loyalty club members. The hotel is next to the CambridgeSide Galleria Mall which also had the hotel's parking. There is inside access directly from the hotel to the mall through the parking deck. Our parking pass was good for a few hours after check out, always helpful in Cambridge/Boston where parking is difficult. The hotel is across the street from the Science Museum and a 10 minute or so walk to the Lechmere Station of the Green Line. Kendall Square/MIT, Harvard Square and Boston are a short cab ride away.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SubroSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Awesome comments, thank you! We are very dog friendly, but we place a strong emphasis on friendly staff and cleanliness too, so I am glad you got to experience that too.

Thanks for staying!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We've now been staying at the Marlowe for several years and very much look forward to visiting. We are loyal Kimpton customers and are generally happy to visit a Kimpton property but there is something special about this property. The key distinction seems to be its high commitment to customer service and continuity of staff-- many of the staff seems to have remained in service for several years and recognize us when we return. The hotel is also highly sympathetic to dogs. To some extent, our dogs are treated even better than we are. We feel very much at home at the Marlowe and will certainly return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank ordinarymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Wow, thank you for sharing! I can assure that although we love our canine friends, we love our 2 legged friends even more. Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am very loyal to the Kimpton Hotel Brand, have always been very happy staying at these hotels, across the country. The Hotel Marlowe did not disappoint. Stayed twice within a week. The first was a night just before Christmas, needed a place to stay with the dog on the way to celebrate the holidays with family.

We were warmly welcomed, from the Valet to the Front Desk. The entire staff was helpful and friendly.

The second was New Years Eve. Returned on a last minute whim and was again welcomed by a very friendly staff. This hotel does everything top notch. I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: if you're sensitive to pets, be sure to ask to be placed away from the dogs. This hotel generall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank checkinginplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thanks for these kind words, it makes me smile! I am so happy to see you were with us twice in a week, especially over the holidays. Can't wait to have you back!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

While I wouldn't pick this location for a purely leisure trip to Boston or Cambridge, it was very convenient for attending a wedding there and service was over the top. The hotel really prides itself on attending to your needs. Room was spacious and comfortable, nice robes, huge TV, fast wifi (which you have to pay for if you're not a Kimpton Hotel "in touch" member, but it's free to join). Hotel connects via underground parking to the Cambridgeside Mall, not a place I'd go for fun, but again it was very convenient to staying there a few days for wedding festivities midwinter, when it's cold outside. Wine happy hour in evening is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Room that don't face the courtyard are better views, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

We really do pride ourselves on tending to every need, thanks for pointing that out! I am glad you got a chance to stay because of the wedding you were at and thanks for the plug for our loyalty program (it really is free to join!)

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Each staff person made us feel like old friends or visiting royalty '. Could not have asked for more comfort and attention to detail. Beautifully appointed room and bath. Lovely view of the Charles River and the city surrounded by peaceful serenity. Our event was perfectly overseen, food service exceptional. Our guests praised the Marlowe's charm and ambiance.

Room Tip: River view a peaceful view, quiet, interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gravyhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

This is awesome, thank you for sharing! I love reading about treating guests like royalty, makes me very happy!


Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I recently stayed here on two occasions, a week apart. Previously we stayed here two years ago. The staff is warm, friendly, and welcoming, from the doorman to the front desk to the maids. The second time I stayed on this trip I was greeted as an old friend, by name. The wine reeption was wonderful after a long day of driving. The beds are super comfortable, the rooms very clean and nice, and the baths have plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for the kind words, glad to have you back with us again! I love the wine reception too!

Thanks again!


Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We enjoyed our stay, nice welcome and room. Good location and - good to know in Boston - affordable overnight parking. Too bad breakfast is not included. And we noticed the hotel is a animal friendly place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Elisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for sharing some comments about your stay! Breakfast is not included in the rate, but Bambara does an amazing job and it's worth checking out while you are here. I like the french toast!


Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,009 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $148 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing