We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than even reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel Marlowe. The service started even before I arrived with a call to the concierge asking about transportation issues. She was extraordinarily helpful and friendly. We did not have our dogs with us, but there are little four-legged and some big four-legged friends coming and going. It has a wonderful atmosphere but is not intrusive. I did not hear one bark the entire time. The rooms are extremely well done, and the beds very comfortable. It felt very high-end, but we did not pay a high-end, snooty price. Every day they offer wine at happy hour for free in the lobby. I highly recommend signing up for the Kimpton hotel loyalty plan, which gave me free Wi-Fi, and a complementary paper in the morning. The Cambridge Galleria Mall is connected via a series of doors to the hotel itself. This is a bonus if you want to do some quick shopping or grab a quick bite and it is as frigid as it was the weekend that we were there. Otherwise, it is a 20 minute walk to the Boston Garden to watch the Celtics play, and about half of that to the Museum of science. MIT is another 20 minute walk in the other direction. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful, without the usual off – shift grumps you can find it anyplace. Anytime I'm in Boston, I will come back here first.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank DaveWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for the kind words, I think we are pretty cool as well. The InTouch program is definitely a must even if just for the free Wifi, but there are alot of other cool perks too!

Thanks!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,036 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I recently spent five days at the hotel. I would say at the outset that all the staff without exception were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they did everything in their power to make our stay very enjoyable. The room itself was comfortable and more than adequate for our needs, nice view over downtown Boston, free coffee in the lounge. It is outside downtown Boston, but is not far from a large shopping mall and only a twenty minute stroll to the Boston Common. The Museum of Science is very close indeed. Overall a very pleasant stay and I would heartily recommend the Hotel Marlowe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river, road below is busy but never heard a sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rharper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks for celebrating your birthday with us and for the wonderful recommendation!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Marlowe on a recent cold November weekend. A nice enough hotel, though the billing as a so called "boutique" hotel is a bit of a stretch-- the building and decor, though still in manageable condition is very 90's era in appearance. Very helpful and friendly staff upon our late Friday afternoon checkin - a lobby wine reception was a nice touch.
Location wise, there is not much in the immediate vicinity. The Galeria Mall is adjacent and attached to the hotel -the stores and restaurants are of the chain variety found in every other mall. There are a couple of isolated restaurants here and there when venturing further from the hotel, particuarly toward Kendall Square though not really within reasonable distance for most people to walk. Overall, not a great location convience wise.
The room itself was nice enough - comfy beds....down pillows, comforter etc. . . Our view was of the internal courtyard so not much to report by way of any nice view though I'm sure the outside rooms have afford a nice look at Boston across the Charles and Kendall / Cambridge in the other direction.
The only real signifigant turnoff of the stay (and not to be discounted) was the stained and moldy shower curtain emblazoned with the "Marlowe" branding and the bathroom that just didn't seem to be all that clean- - certainly not the image I'm sure this hotel is trying to convey. Overall, if you're able to get a deal on the rate here and location is not a factor, this is a favorable place to stay. Otherwise, I'd look around some.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thanks for sharing your feedback. Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us and your comments are not typical, so I will personally look into and address right away.

Thanks again for sharing.

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I stayed here one night for business trip and found it to be outstanding. The service was great, loved the feel of the place (the wine tasting and fun staff attitude), and the amenities were all great. They had loaner kayaks for the Charles River and the raid the mini bar feature was nice when you'd had a long day and needed a quick snack. Since I missed the wine tasting, they provided me with a free wine coupon (very limited choices, but still nice). It was my first stay with a Kimpton and it's really refreshing to stay with a company who doesn't take themselves too seriously. I would consider staying here again, although I tend to be pretty value-conscious when I travel for leisure. The only minor negative is that the down mattress toppers won't be for everyone - they're basically a 1- or 2-inch down comforter underneath you. Be sure to sign up for the loyalty program for free wifi and other benefits.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxpower212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

We DEFINITELY don't take ourselves to seriously here, so thank you for pointing that out! I am thrilled you had a great visit. Come again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

1. Location is neutral, the next door is Cambridgeside Galleria Mall, a huge shopping mall where you can easily find coffee, pizza and other food. But you need to walk 15 minutes to get to the nearest metro station which is in the downtown of Cambridge.
2. Room is clean and spacious, but it's a little bit inconvenient to get coffee or hot water in room, you have to go downstair to the bar on the 1st floor. A coffee machine in room would be much better.
3. No free breakfast, you need to order, $20 in average, $17 buffet in weekend.
4. No free parking, $20 per day in shopping mall's garage.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplexsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience! We do have coffee makers available for the rooms (the cool K-cup ones!), just let us know and we will have it delivered before you can say "cream and sugar!" Also, there are 2 metro stops nearby Kendall (Red Line) which is about 15 minutes and Lechmere (Green Line) is about 5 minutes away.

Thanks again for the feedback!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Just spent a few days in Cambridge/Boston and stayed at the Marlowe. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Very clean and nicely decorated. The comforter was divine, however, I found the bed to be rather too soft for my preference (down bed topper) and it sort of felt like it sloped to one side. Perhaps everyone slept on the same side and thus it became lopsided?

The hotel is advertised as pet-friendly. Thankfully, for people with allergies, they have non-pet rooms (people with pets stay on one level).

Location was fairly convenient. Just a short walk to where our course was given on the Boston side. Beside the hotel, there is a shopping mall with restaurants. Nearest metro station was about 10min walk.

We didn't have free wifi (because we had booked through a hotel-booking site). Staff informed us we could either use their business centre or register for their rewards program and then get free wifi. Unfortunately, there was a glitch and we were unable to after all. I think that was the only inconvenience. Most hotels offer free wifi for ALL guests (at minimum in the lobby) to allow you to use your own device, regardless which website you use to reserve rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalgal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks for the review! Regarding our WIFI, it is free for all Kimpton InTouch members (no cost to join) regardless of how you book the room. You just need your email address to sign in and it works in the lobby and guest rooms!

Thanks again!

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge. It is a very nice place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone traveling to the Boston area. The rooms were nice, clean. The bathrooms were a little on the small side which made it tight if you are in a hurry and trying to share a sink. Staff was OUTSTANDING. We were looking for a restaurant and they made several recommendations including Abigail's in Cambridge and some fine Italian restaurants and bakeries in the North End. Tried to get through to one restaurant for us for over 30 min. I accidentally left my phone charger at home and they loaned one to me. Free coffee in the morning. Free wine happy hour in the late afternoon. The Cambridge Galleria Mall is next door. A few nice non-chain restaurants a 10-15 minute walk. Close to MIT and Harvard. Cab stand outside. Did a mention the outstanding staff?? We don't have a dog but it is also dog friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AC585ROC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarloweGM, General Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

The staff was outstanding? Thanks for mentioning (and mentioning again :-) )!!! That's what we pride ourselves on....can't wait to have you back!

Thanks,

Joe Capalbo
General Manager
joe.capalbo@hotelmarlowe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,026 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
998 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#11 of 19 in Cambridge
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $131 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing