We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a business stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here last week whilst on business in Boston. It is attached to the Mall (dangerous!) and it's amenities for a business stay were just fine.

The location was a bit out of the way and not near enough to any public transport but the taxi drivers were all quite chatty and friendly.

Food good - standard American fayre (no portion control - why so MUCH of everything?!!?)

Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajduf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

HelloAdjuf!

The mall is a bit dangerous, especially to our pockets! I know the portions are a bit large, we just want to make sure you are full at the end; if you can't finish we do have to-go boxes! I am glad you enjoyed the hotel!

We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the Marlowe, great location near all the Cambridge hot spots. The staff was super attentive especially the valet. I would have preferred another beer or two on draft in the bar but a good selection of bottled beer. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TennBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello TennBoy!

We do have a great relationship with Harpoon, which we do have on tap; however, as you said we do have a great bottled selection! Come back in the different seasons, we are always changing the tastes with the time of the year!

I am happy you enjoyed the hotel, thank you for the nice words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've actually worked directly across the street from this Hotel for about 6 years and have never stayed here. During the recent Blizzard (Nemo) my company put us up in the Hotel Marlowe due to the weather conditions. I couldnt believe the gem that was right in my own backyard. I loved everything about it, the rooms, the staff, the bar, the food, the accomodations. Not one complaint here. Even though I look at this hotel everyday for the past 6 years, ive contemplated taking a vacation here one long weekend. A Must see if in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wassupjonnyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello wassupjonnyg,

I am glad you finally tried us out after the six years, even if it was on your company! I hope next time we see you it is not because of a few feet of snow! Trust me; the hotel is even better when we are not snowed in!!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I love Hotel Marlowe and have stayed there several times. Parking, checking in, staff ... I have never had any issues with any of this. Everyone is so polite and helpful. They really make you feel welcome.

I love the decor throughout the hotel and it is very clean. My room was in the way back overlooking the garden area and it was cornered into a funny area as there were rooms further down the hall but it was a little maze to get there. It was great because it was quiet and very private.

The bar is really nice and I have never had to wait for anything. I've only eaten there a couple of times ... once in the restaurant with my company and once for room service. The food was great both times.

One thing that I really love is that they offer you a special room rate if you are a Mass. General Hospital patient. All you have to do is show them your MGH ID card. I think that is a fantastic benefit.

The location is great because it's right in the same building as the Galleria Mall and a short cab ride to anywhere in the city.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettyRoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello BettyRoxx,

We love our MGH guests!! Thank you for taking great care of us, you keep doing what you have been doing and we will do the same!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this hotel through Trip Advisor's Snique Away program and we were not disappointed. Original trip was interrupted by a major Nor'easter in early Feb. Snique Away moved our reservation 30 days down the road. Our second attempt was diverted by extreme flooding & a Winter advisory warning for Boston. Again, Snique Away moved us and we were able to make the trip.

The hotel is across Edwin Land Blvd from the Museum of Science where we planned to spend one day of the weekend. That was convenient. The Galleria is in the same block as the hotel & accessible through the hotel garage if you're in a shopping mood.

The room was a double double; very spacious, fantastic thick pillowtop mattresses, clean and many thoughtful items. This is not a luxury hotel but it is very nice. Staff is nice and parking is convenient within the hotel garage. We prefer to be downtown with plenty to do in walking distance but, as we didn't research the hotel location, we didn't know. They have a nice fitness room on the top floor with up-to-date equipment, weights, bosu balls & more and a view while you work out.

Good experience and I recommend it to people who want to be in the Cambridge area. Harvard Square is about 8 miles away.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaGirl500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello CaliforniaGirl500!

I am glad that we did not let you down! We will have to step it up for your next stay to keep you just as happy!

We look forward to impressing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Spent two nights earlier this week at the Hotel Marlowe with my two pugs. I so appreciated all the pet friendly touches in a hotel that is perfectly clean and stylish. Loved the living room just off the main lobby with a fireplace and comfy chairs. My King-sized bedroom was beautifully decorated for both human and pet comfort. Room service provided by the Bambara restaurant was always on time and delicious. The front desk and front door staff were friendly and professional... and I thank them for that. Whether you are traveling with or without your pet, I highly recommend a stay at the Hotel Marlowe.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello kadrew!

Thank you, we always appreciate seeing posts like this! I think my favorite thing to here is that we made you feel at home! Please bring the family back whenever; your "other home" is always here!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Large room at a good rate, good range of free tv channels (some HD), very comfortable bed and efficient friendly staff. My only complaint being no coffee making facilities in the room. Free wifi if you sign up to Kimpton In Touch. Added to my list of preferred hotels in Cambridge.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Andy99!

I am very happy you enjoyed everything! Next time you are here please ask us to bring a coffee maker up to your room! It is no problem for us to get this up to your room, just ask and your wish will come true!

Thank you and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,002 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#10 of 19 in Cambridge
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $137 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing