We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made my daughter's birthday extra special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a one-night stay with my daughter, who turned eight and wanted to have some "family time" close to the city. We took our Saint Bernard, which is a rare possibility for a hotel chain.

We couldn't be happier with the experience. Chris DeMillia the Front Desk Manager e-mailed me the weekend prior and asked about any special requests for my daughter or the pup. Even though we didn't ask for anything in particular, we had a special goldfish in our room for my daughter to enjoy, a great setup for the dog (bowls and a great dog bed), and in the evening he brought up a box of chocolates and a bubbly drink for my daughter to toast her birthday (water). :)

It's so nice to see a hotel make the little efforts. My daughter said it was the "best birthday ever" and it was definitely because of Chris and how welcoming the hotel is in general. We are won over by Kimpton in general and I'll strive to stay there whenever I can!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Donna S!!

We aim to please and it seems that we did just that for your Daughter's birthday! Chris is a wonderful person and I am sure he is very happy to see what you said about him! We only hope that next year's birthday is even better!

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,002)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,002 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed there on a recent business trip to Cambridge. It had a nice boutique hotel feel to it, and it was something different from the Cambridge Marriott that I usually stay at while visiting Cambridge. Room is clean and of decent size, WiFi worked fine, bed is comfortable, the room has some fancy brand bottle water (name of the brand escapes me right now) that cost almost 10 bucks, but if you register your email with the hotel, you get free WiFi and a 10 dollar minibar credit. One thing I would have liked is in room coffee, but you could go to the lobby and get complimentary coffee there. Overall, a pleasant stay for a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huskies92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Huskies92!!

We actually have a lot of business guests with us, so you found the right place to go!! Next time you are here please ask us to bring up a coffee maker. We do not have these in the room, but we do these by request!

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My wife and I try to stay at Kimpton properties exclusivley when we can. They are consistently great. This was a good place to stay and explore Boston and take a duck tour. No complaints!

Subway and museum are right around the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcesq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Marcesq42,

No complaint’s...that is what I like to hear! Thanks for trying us out on your travels through the Kimpton properties, we promise to not disappoint!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I really enjoyed staying here this past weekend. The room was confortable and very clean. The evening wine hour was a very nice touch. The morning coffee and tea and hot chocolate bar was great. I recommend joining the kimpton rewards. It is free and gets you free wifi and $10 towards the mini bar in your room. Valet parking is expensive. Parking seems to be this way all over Boston. We spent $30 to valet the car. The staff at the hotel is great. They are all very helpful and nice. The location was great. Right near the green line t. But be aware the t stops running early in Boston, but there are plently of cabs. We would have stayed a second night at this hotel, but the room price doubled from saturday to sunday night, so we decided to go elsewhere for our second night. However, I would be very happy to return to this hotel if visitng the area for an overnight again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Ginaz,

The rewards program is awesome; I never touch a mini-bar unless I am getting my $10.00 off! I can't live without it! It is like a small present that you can personally choose!

Thanks for the kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I’ve been curious about this hotel for a while. During my college days there were only two hotels that were convenient to MIT and neither was very good –from what I can tell those two haven’t changed much. Now that I’ve stayed at the newer Marlowe, my guess is that this is probably the best hotel in a town that doesn’t have great hotels. We booked a studio suite which was spacious but not particularly well-appointed. The hotel provides some nice services. There was a complimentary evening wine tasting each night (which we missed), ice water was always available in the lobby and morning coffee was also available in the lobby. As a Kimpton Intouch member, wifi was free as well as $10 from the minibar. The fitness center was also reasonably good – no place to stretch, but we had plenty of room in our room for that. Everyone who worked there was friendly and helpful. As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is adjacent to a mall – very convenient if you’ve forgotten something. The services were up to the standard of Kimpton hotels; however, I’ve been in better Kimpton rooms/suites. The hotel is within walking distance of the Lechmere T station, and a longer walk to Kendall Square. A car is useful in this location with both self-parking and valet available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello 2teens!!

I would like to agree with you that we are the best hotel in town!!! For your next time I would like to let you know that if you do miss out on the wine hour we can always get you a glass, next time just swing by the desk!

We hope to see you soon, thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our second time back and both times were great. We had a nice room on the top floor. The furnishings are elegant and the bed is beyond comfortable, the pillows are a bit too hard. The shower was excellent as well as the pressure and temperature. Loved the complimentary wine and snacks. The staff is always smiling and happy and they go that extra mile to make sure you have a pleasant stay. They always seems to know what to say to make you feel welcome. We will definitely return for our next 'birthday' weekend.

Room Tip: We always as for a room on the top floor, makes it a bit quieter, as well as one away from the ice m...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Jeanne H!

Happy Belated Birthday! I see we did your birthday right two times now; however, you know what they say...the third time is the charm!! I hope you enjoy the next birthday as much as the previous two!

See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The staff were very nice to me when i checked in with a bad cold. They sent up hot tea and changed the room i was schedule to have for a much nicer one with a gorgeous view. The food was excellent and the Etro toiletries divine. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are stunning at sunset.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyk10008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Hello Judyk10008,

I hope you are feeling better now, hopefully the tea helped!! I am glad you were able to enjoy the food when you were under the weather.

Next time we see you I hope you are all healthy, but if you are not we will make sure to get you some more tea!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
904 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
977 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,909 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,349 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $157 - $562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing