We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, beautiful hotel on the Charles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here one night. Loved the vibe in the lobby and the hallways. Great decor. Looks clean, new and modern. A definite hotel for the significant other in your life.

Sometimes the best test of a great hotel is how they deal with the inevitable problems. Our toilet broke -- handle stopped work, on constant flush. Took two calls but plumber sorted it out. Middle of the night refrigerator got a bit noisy -- reported that on the way out.

Really liked room service. Prompt, hot and NOT generic. Well done. Gave us a great view of the Charles River.

Great beds, sheets. Asked for extra towels before check-in. They were there. Great night's sleep -- very quiet.

I would leap at the opportunity to go back to this hotel. First class hotel in Cambridge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FredTravelVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello FredTravelVa!

Thank you for noticing what really makes a hotel! There are a lot of hotels out there and how certain situations are handled can make or break a hotel, so thank you for noticing the hard work that it takes!

We hope that you get the opportunity to come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friends and I started off this year by visiting Boston. We were very pleased with our experience at Hotel Marlowe. It is attached to the Cambridgeside Galleria mall which can be accessed via a short walk through the indoor parking garage. The mall offered plenty of dining options which made up for the fact that the hotel did not have complimentary breakfast. However the hotel offers almost everything else and some things you did not think about. Coffee and tea was available in the morning in a stylish lounge area. I liked the fact that they had syrups to flavor your coffee and a wide selection of Tazo tea. The atmosphere in the lounge area was just right to enjoy some drinks with friends. In the same area the hotel has a cocktail hour from 5-6pm, but we did not get to try it out. The fitness room on the 8th floor is small, but they do utilize the space well. I was surprised that hula hoops and jump ropes were available in addition to the usual hotel gym equipment. I also learned that they lend bikes and kayaks to guests in the warmer months. The list of complimentary items that you can get "if you forgot it" is extensive. Besides toothbrush and toothpaste it also included international charging adapters. The hotel is a short walk (5-10 min) from the green T Lechmere stop. If you want to go to the red T line you can take advantage of the free Cambridgeside shuttle that goes to the Kendall Square stop and from the mall every 20 min when the mall is open. Otherwise it is a 15 min walk.

The room had a trendy feel to it. There were even accents like animal print robes and even the hotel info book was leopard printed. Bed was really comfortable. Mattress was made by Sealy especially for the hotel as the mattress was named Kimpton II.

Self parking with in/out privileges in the indoor garage was $20 per day. This was one of the best rates in the Boston area considering most places charge $30 and up for parking. The parking facility also had zip cars and spots for plug-in electric vehicles.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank komodokd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello Komodokd,

Well it seems that you did your research! I feel bad that you did not make it to "wine hour," next time if you miss out swing on by the Front Desk and we will make sure you get a glass of what was served that night! Hopefully we see you soon, the Spring is almost here and of course as you know that means kayak season!

We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The location was great, next to lots of shopping and restaurants. The hotel was amazing but the staff was a just ok, not the level the expected. I had a packaged shipped from the hotel and was charged 10 times what it normally would have been because the girl at the desk forgot to check a box. Disappointing!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seh5020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a trip into Boston to see friends and I had no idea he was planning to propose. As soon as we got to the hotel we were amazed at how beautiful the lobby was and how friendly the staff was. Our room was a gorgeous two room suite complete with a gigantic jacuzi tub. We took advantage of the complementary wine and hors d'oeuvre hour each night and were able to easily get to downtown Boston to meet our friends using the hotel's taxi stand that was never empty. What made the stay even better was the help of manager in training Georgina Heasman. She was so helpful throughout our stay and apparently helped set up rose petals, flowers and chocolate for the proposal. We will definitely be staying at the Marlowe the next time we are in Boston!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cweltero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi cweltero!

Wow what a surprise! Congratulations!! I am so happy to hear Georgina was able to make an already special night even better for you. We hope to have you and your fiancé back to the hotel real soon.

Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travel and stay in a lot of hotels--5 hotels and 11 nights so far just in Jan 2013. I have to say the Marlowe is my favourite place to stay when in Boston. There are so many great things about it, where do I begin? I love the classy design, furnishings and finishing details throughout the hotel. The staff there is unusually friendly, helpful, and remembers so many details and they record your room and pillow preferences for future stays. There is an evening wine reception every day with free wines, snacks and on our most recent stay also spiked cider. Free coffee every morn in lobby, water infused with fresh fruit the rest of the day. A bowl of biscuits by the door for pets. Great walking trails by the canal & along the Charles with kayaks in summer. Attached to a mall for shopping and reasonable parking charges for Boston. Rooms are very large and beds super comfortable, minibar, fridge, robes. Reasonably priced. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hi DebKToronto!

I agree, our team is unusually friendly! It's just because we all love to have fun and we get some of the greatest guests walking through our doors! That makes it easy to be so friendly. Don't be a stranger. We all want to see you again real soon!

Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our 2nd time staying @ a Kimpton hotel & we were not disappointed. Clean, modern & sleek accomodations w/ super helpful staff. The bed was so comfortable, slept like a baby! We will return to this hotel w/ it's convenient location to TD Garden + North End with our Basset Hound.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basset_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Hello Basset_Mom!

We would love to have you back at the Marlowe with your pup, you know what they say...the third time is the charm! Thank you for the kind words!

We all hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This weekend we had a wonderfull get away at the Hotel Marlowe. Every staff member that we encountered was thoughfull and eager to be of assistance. Our room was perfect...The bed is the most comforable hotel bed there is....what more can I say!

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Generalmanager501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We love you too GeneralManager501!

I am so happy to hear you had a great stay with us. As for the bed I couldn't agree more, I only wish I got a chance to sleep in them more! We all hope to see you again soon!

- Michal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,001 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#10 of 19 in Cambridge
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $137 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing