We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best value - Just OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kimpton Hotel Marlowe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Marlowe
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not the best value - Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Let me preface this review by saying that we travelled with 2.5 yr old twins potty training so our needs are pretty different from the average joe. We stayed in a room with 2 double beds for about $300 a night.

I booked this hotel through hotwire as it was rated 4 stars and had very good reviews. Here's the scoop.

Pros:
1. The beds are extremely comfortable.
2. The location pretty good as it's right next to the Galleria and you can access the mall without even stepping foot outside in the cold.
3. Pretty close to the sites in Boston. Not a far drive.
4. Pretty thick walls and ceilings. Cant hear your neighbors.
5. Attached garage accesssible via elevator. Valet not necessary.
6. Decor was nice if anything a little over the top. I felt like i was in Mad Hatter land.
7. Dinner at Bambara was excellent.

Here's the bad:
1. Rooms were average size, far from spacious, and bathrooms were small. It must be an old building but if you're travelling with small children, there was barely any room to move around. The tub was not the kind you could soak in.
2. Lots of dogs everywhere. Small ones and medium dogs are ok but when you see a 100lb pitbull sitting in the lobby and you have tiny kids, its a little nerve wracking.
3. The attached restaurant Bambara's breakfast is overpriced and very bad. I recommend crossing the street to Royal Sonesta's ArtBar which has an excellent breakfast and cheaper.
4. Tiny lobby. There was barely any exploring room for little kids. I prefer a larger lobby where the kids can snoop around at things when the weather's bad.
5. The coffee in the morning was watered down and flavorless. I've had better coffee at a sidewalk coffee stand.
6. No pool.
7. The beds were really high up. My kids couldnt climb on by themselves which made it a nuisance to keep lifting them up.

Summary:
Stay across the street at Royal Sonesta. Their rooms are far nicer and the whole hotel feels much less claustrophobic. The price isnt much more either so skip the Marlowe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wunderlust2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michal P, Hotel Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Wunderlust2007,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I definitely enjoyed reading your comments, the good and the bad!

The pros you mention in your review are spot on. I appreciate that you took the time to mention them.

I agree with you regarding the size of our rooms - they are average and for a family of four, they might be a bit much if you are staying with us for a while. However, we are always up for upgrading our guests to bigger rooms (like our suites) if we have them available.

I also agree that sometimes we tend to have quite a few dogs around. We are a pet friendly hotel and in fact Kimpton is known for their dog/pet friendly programs, so many time guests like to stay with us specifically because we treat their dogs like we would treat any human.

I am sorry the complimentary coffee in the lobby seemed watered down, this was not our intention and we will make sure moving forward it tastes good!

You make a lot of great points and I’m sad you chose the hotel across the street instead of us. In case you change your mind and decide to give us another chance, please contact me directly and I will be more than happy to take care of you and your family.

Sincerely,
Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,227
    396
    82
    26
    14
See reviews for
442
552
95
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at this hotel when visiting 3 colleges in Boston area the last weekend of September. Family of 3 and could not have been more pleased. Beautiful hotel, connected to a shopping mall and out of the busy city just by a short crossing of a bridge. We were able to self park in under ground deck for 20.00 which is probably half the cost of valet. Room and lobby were charming and enjoyed the wine hour. We ended up shopping in mall before dinner at hotel and really enjoyed ourselves. If you looking fo a convenient hotel to Boston or the colleges in area you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frefutravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear frefutravelor,

Isn't it amazing what crossing one little bridge can do? One minute your in the middle of it all and the next you feel like it's miles away. :)

Good luck to yours on getting into one of the Colleges you visited. Hope to see you again, too!


Best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed for three nights and found the hotel surprisingly good value for money. The restruant was also very nice with the food, service and attentiveness of staff all scoring points. Located sufficiently close to the centre and benefits from being next door to a mall. Two picky points, being British, I kind of resented the waitress filling in the percentages of tips on my bill! I also found the 10 dollar a day charge for internet access a bit much. You can join and get it for free but its such a faf! Would stay again..and that's my highest recommendation.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear bill d,

Thanks so much for the review! We're so glad to hear that you would stay again, can't wait! :)


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed overnight @ the Hotel Marlowe while while looking at colleges for our youngest daughter in the immediate Boston area. This is a beautiful luxurious hotel from the guest rooms to the lobby, and well-manned with friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous employees. This facility is located a 5 minute walk to the T (subway), which easily took us into the city of Boston in 30 minutes. Parking is available at the adjacent shopping mall. The cost was also a major factor, at least 1/2 the price from what we found in the heart of Boston. I would recommend this hotel for anyone in requiring lodging in the Boston area without needing to splurge on city prices. We plan on staying here again, if and when our daughter is accepted to Northeastern.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djkginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear djkginger,

It's so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much! Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope that your daughter is accepted to Northeastern too, not just for the fine education she'll receive, but so that you can come and join us while she's here. ;)


Here's to (hopefully) many happy returns,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I recently stayed at the Marlowe while in Cambridge for a conference (not held at this hotel). It was one of the nicest hotel stays I've ever had. Here's a list of some of the great attributes of this hotel:
1) I arrived rather late, and they didn't have the room type I'd reserved. So they upgraded to a room with a beautiful view.
2) Young, extremely helpful staff. I felt they were genuinely concerned that my stay be perfect.
3) Room nicely decorated and exceptionally clean.
4) Staff at Bambara, the in-hotel restaurant, were also unusually friendly and helpful. They felt (I didn't) that my food took too long to be served, so they gave me a glass of wine. I didn't think it was necessary--but appreciated it all the same.
5) Bicycles (and helmets) available for loan.
6) The attached Galleria made running a few errands super easy.
7) The bed was terrific: firm, with a featherbed that made it just perfect.

Overall, I can't say enough nice things about the Marlowe and its staff. I travel frequently, but always feel a little edgy when first settling in to a hotel room. Here I felt like a treasured guest who had been situated in a lovely, peaceful room. I'll look for reasons to be in Cambridge, just so I can return here!

Room Tip: The view of the Charles is reallly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBgolight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear CarolLB5,

We're so glad we were able to make your stay so memorable. And Thank You for such a wonderfully detailed review. Sometimes we just like to do something special - a complimentary upgrade or drink, use of the bicycles & protective gear - just because we feel it's the right thing to do. :)

We can't wait to see you again!


All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Located in the heart of Cambridge, this hotel is pet friendly and offers staff that goes above and beyond. Cab rides to Boston nightlife only runs $10 from this hotel. The free wine reception each night makes meeting new people fairly easy. This hotel is also attached to a mall so if you need any last minute clothing or want to catch some cheap mall food you are in luck.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warminmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Warminmn,

This is perfect! Thanks so much for the awesome review~! Can't wait to welcome you back!


All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Great service, great rooms. The only ding I can give them is that the business office is not included. I needed to do an airline-check-in. I would think that a hotel of this class would not want to nickle and dime guest for use of the business office.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThunderhorseBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Hotel Marlowe, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear ThunderhorseBob,

Thanks for the review! So you are aware for the future, we do offer complimentary boarding pass printing from the Business Center. Just select the Boarding Pass Icon when you log on. :)

Hope to see you again soon!


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 4,104 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Marlowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Marlowe

Property: Kimpton Hotel Marlowe
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Marlowe 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Hotel Marlowe is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel, a Kimpton Hotel, further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Marlowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing