We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed in the Marlowe for five nights and there wasn't a single thing we could complain about. The rooms are great, the service is impeccable and the staff are really helpful. The hotel's restaurant Bambara serves great food throughout the day. There is also a wine reception every evening for the guests!! The hotel is also conveniently located - a 5 minute walk from the nearest subway station and a 15 minutes drive from the airport. All in all, a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kunaldg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Dear Kunaldg,

Thank you so much! We're so happy that you enjoyed your extended stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a great time at the Marlowe. The staff were welcoming and enthusiastic from start to finish and we felt genuinely looked after. We stayed in a king suite which was really spacious and had great views of the Charles and downtown Boston. Behind the hotel is a convenient mall which gives access to the river and various cruises, and the hotel offer free bike and kayak hire. The on site gym has everything you need to get a good workout, and has towels and headsets for you. We were staying at the Charles in Harvard Square but moved as we were underwhelmed - the Marlowe beats it hands down!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexathon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear lexathon,

I'm glad we could be a welcome relief for you and that you felt cared for. We hope next time you'll be able to enjoy your whole vacation with us!


Kindest regards,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

First stay at Marlowe after staying at several other Kimpton properties. As a former Cambridge resident, the location makes it easy to reach dozens of great restaurants, Kendall Sq. area, Museum of Science and Charles River waterfront. Less than 5 minute walk to Lechmere T stop.

From front desk to housekeeping, service is excellent -- a refreshing difference from most hotel chains. Rooms and common areas are spotless, and little touches such as the wine hour are much appreciated.

We stayed in a corner suite and were pleased with the space, furnishings and particularly the view. We will definitely return to the Marlowe.

Two minor complaints: Mattress was overly soft -- a firmer mattress would be appreciated. Also, the desk chair was extremely uncomfortable. Needed to complete some work on the laptop one morning, and had to migrate to the sofa. More comfortable, functional desk chair would be a welcome improvement.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNorsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear TheNorsk,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review and we're so happy you were able to enjoy your time back home! We try to put an emphasis on our guest service and it's always great when noticed. :) And I totally agree with your opinion of the view. It is outstanding.


All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently went to Boston with another couple. They stayed at the Ritz and we stayed at the Marlowe and after seeing both, I have to stay that for the value, the Marlowe won hands down. It's a short walk across one of the many bridges from Cambridge to Boston and from there, you can walk anywhere. We did the Freedom Trail walk from the hotel in about 3 hours. It was great. We were on the 5th floor facing the river and the view of Boston, day or night, was great. The hotel shares the same complex as a large mall that has all the big name stores and one of our favorite places to dine, the Cheesecake Factory. With a short walk, you can take a boat for a ride up the Charles River at sunset to see the entire Boston skyline as the sun is setting. Out room was spacious, clean and the beds were very comfortable. We had all the little extras included and if you forgot something, they had a list of what they would bring to your room. Coffee was available in the morning in the lobby and they have a free wine happy hour that included red and white wines and sangria. Wonderful. There was always a taxi available outside the door and the public subway system was just a short walk. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to returning in the not-too-distant future.

Room Tip: Get a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elvis35p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear elvis35p,

Crazy as it sounds, it really is all about Location, Location, Location. And those little extra perks don't hurt either. :)

We can't wait to see you again!


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I loved the leopard print bathrobes!! It was a very luxurious experience and the bellhops were very helpful and professional. Their company philosophy is wonderful- big on recycling and customer service. Great location and awesome amenities like free bikes & kayaks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Kelly804,

Anything we can do to reduce the carbon footprint, we're on it and we want all of our guests in on it as well! Including not using a car while your with us. And I know, those Robes! They always put a smile on my face :)

Hope to see you again!


Happy & Clean Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I'm writing this review as I'm lying in the ultra-comfy bed in my perfectly appointed and immaculate room at the Hotel Marlowe in Cambridge. We were booked into this great place for 3 nights as I visited Boston for the first time. Such a great, friendly city, but I'm extremely pleased that my husband and I chose to stay at this lovely Kimpton property. Were also traveling with our 4-month old Boston terrier, and what a welcome our puppy received from the great staff. He's practically a celebrity at this hotel! Special thanks to Stephanie and Amanda at the front desk for doggy-sitting Bently, our pup. Also kudos to Brendan and all the other valet guys. Thanks do all for a wonderful and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s.g.toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear s.g.toronto,

It makes us so happy when our guests can't even wait to get home to share their experience with the world! Thank you so much! We'll also be sure to let Amanda, Stephanie & Brendan know that you found their service to be exceptional. We can't wait to see you and Bently again soon!


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This is the third Kimpton hotel we have stayed in an the experience is always the same. Everybody in the hotel is extremely friendly and helpful - they really do put an emphasis on customer service.

The hotel is well situated on the Charles River in Cambridge, a short walk from downtown Boston. The rooms are well proportioned and comfortable and never have the feel of a bland chain hotel.

All in all, a great place to stay for a Boston visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank otbc_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly_Zalanskas, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear otbc_oz,

Customer Service is what we're all about! Thanks so much for noticing. And if we had that chain feel, I honestly don't think I'd still be here. ;)

Can't wait to see you again!


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Sonesta Boston
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 19 in Cambridge
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kendall Hotel
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 19 in Cambridge
1,001 reviews
2.5 mi away
Charles Hotel
Charles Hotel
#3 of 19 in Cambridge
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
Le Meridien Cambridge - MIT
#10 of 19 in Cambridge
237 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Regency Cambridge, Overlooking Boston
0.6 mi away
Boston Marriott Cambridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $137 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing