We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern well-appointed hotel, with very helpful staff and good facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle, UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Modern well-appointed hotel, with very helpful staff and good facilities”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

This modern hotel is pretty much equidistant from both Cambridge and Boston centres, the latter being across the river. Some rooms have river vews, but the hotel is not actually on the Charles river itself. It takes 20-25 minutes on a very pleasant walk to get to the Beacon Hill and Boston Common areas of Boston, less to get to Harvard, and MIT is just 5-10 minnutes stroll.
The rooms are large and comfortable, with good facilities. Breakfast is good, with plenty of options and excellent food. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. It's dog-friendly, with all mutts staying on the top floor.

Room Tip: Rooms at front for possible views of the river, at the back a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alphablack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Alphablack,

Looks like you got your City Legs on for this trip - you did tons of walking!

Thank you for your kind words about our Staff as well as the actual accommodations themselves. We try really hard to make a more than memorable experience.

Hope to see you again!


All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    433
    88
    27
    16
See reviews for
498
617
97
434
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! We were priced out of the Boston hotels and got a room at the Marlowe for just over $200 a night. Even this seemed very expensive to us, but at the time with travelled Boston hotel prices were a bit crazy! Anyway, it is such a brilliant hotel. Decor not really to my liking but that is a matter of preference and the comfort, cleanliness and service more than made up for it. The staff, without exception, could not do enough to be helpful, but in a really friendly way rather than a 'yes sir' way. We had occasion to ask for help a few times - with the safe, wanting a coffee maker, a cot, extra coffee capsules- nothing was too much trouble! When I arrived I was offered a free drink while I waited for my husband to arrive to check us in. Little touches like that really make you feel welcome. The hotel has a connection to the mall next door, so when it rained we didnt even need to go outside! We didn't eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food, though the bar/restaurant looked nice from the outside.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank londongal68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear londongal68,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words. You are too kind. And I agree. It's the little things that really make something shine and I'm so happy you were able to see our own little shining stars during your stay.

Next time you're with us, you'll have to try Bambara. :)


Happy Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The hotel Marlowe sticks out as a beautiful, enjoyable hotel in otherwise lacking Cambridge. Kimpton knows how to turn eclectic into comfortable, so you're surrounded by great design, but everywhere you turn, there's a comfortable place to sit and take in the surroundings. The art in the hallways was especially appealing - not at all hotel style.

Rooms are well laid out and the bed big and comfortable. I especially like that there's an extra sheet between you and the covered duvet, which many hotels seem to skip. There was also a fun throw with plush on one side - nice for tv watching. The bathroom is pretty and the shower awesome - 5 shower heads! One from the top and 4 from the sides. The Etro toiletries are nice, but I especially like the Italian soaps. We had a very basic room, so I would guess the more expensive ones are really, really nice.

You're on the MIT side of Cambridge. We walked over the bridge to Boston a few times. The Lechmere stop on the green line is very close & your best bet to get into Boston, although Kendal Square isn't too far and gives you access to the Red line. It's next to a mall with chain restaurants (like Cheesecake Factory & PF Changs), but for local food, you'll need to walk towards Harvard Square or take the T to Harvard Square. We found a great jazz brunch 1/2 way in between. Bambara, the hotel's restaurant is very good and we ended up eating both a dinner and a lunch there.

All the staff is great....really! I love the hour of free wine happy hour and was pleasantly surprised that it also included an appetizer, as well as bowls of nice nuts. Yes, it's inexpensive wine, but it's free and better than most happy hour special wines and you're enjoying it sitting by a gas fire place in a wonderfully funky living room setting. I especially enjoyed it after a day of walking and walking all over Beantown.

There are always a couple of taxis that wait in the round about, so we never had to wait, even though it was a very rainy weekend and the hotel was sold out and packed with a couple of weddings.

Pet friendly to the nth degree!!! Even though our pup was at home, I loved visiting with some of the great dogs who were staying with their humans at the hotel. This place is just cool and the fact that it's perfectly run and all your needs taken care of, makes it a treat. They know how to take care of busy people at an affordable price, at that.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear nkdp,

Not everyone would notice the little design details, but we're so glad you did! You found the little nooks and crannies that allowed you to appreciate the art of the hotel. And enjoying a little (free) wine while sitting, so fun!

Thank you so much for writing. We can't wait to welcome you again!


All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubice, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I was there in my business trip for 21 nights and it was simply great place to stay. Great service, clean rooms and one of the best locations you can get in Cambridge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molcanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear molcanf,

Wow, 21 nights! I bet you got to know Everyone really well. :)

So glad we could be your home base for the trip. Hope to see you again soon!


Safe Travels,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Swanky place in Cambridge, but
Def worth it.
Good check in service, clean rooms, and you can hop on rte 28 no problem.
You get $10 in munches and free wifi if you are part of their Intouch program, totally worth it since its free!
I like the vibe here, not as in your face as a W. and pricing isn't as high as a W.
In room dining food good, has vegetarian options too-try the feta salad and herb French fries.
Good stay overall, just note for parking that the self-parking is $10 cheaper a night than valet ($20 v $30), but you have to move your car by next day at 3pm or you'll get charged another $20.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivaswrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear shivaswrath,

Thank you so much for your kind review, and you get extra points in my book for using the term 'Swanky' :)

You'll have to try out our other Boston locations as well, I think you'll find the swank factor thriving.


Have a great one!
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I was at the Marlowe for only 1 night on a business trip, but wish I could have stayed much loner. I love all the little touches: wine hour. In the evening, lush leopard print robes, free wifi.... And you can take your dog too!
The location is really good too. I will make this the one hotel I stay in when in Cambridge.

Room Tip: I had a room that overlooked the entrance, which is probably not the best. I guess that there are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear Francoise L,

We always wish our guests can stay longer, especially when they're having fun.

Can't wait to see you again next time!



All the best,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed here as a family while on a college visit in Boston. This is a charming little hotel with very friendly staff. This has the quickest elevators we have ever seen in a hotel! We never had to wait more than 10 seconds for the elevator to arrive. The room was very nice and clean with an upbeat decor.
We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, so I cannot comment on the restaurant. Very nice free wine tasting hour, only down side was that it was the same wine the two nights that we attended. Very conveniently located next to MIT, the Charles River and connected to the Cambridge Galleria. The self-parking situation was excellent and pretty affordable. The only downside to the visit was that the map provided by the front desk staff to get to the Aquarium was not detailed enough and we made a wrong turn which caused us to drive 5 miles out of our way.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAGM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly Z, Guest Relations Manager at Kimpton Marlowe Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear MAGM0m,

You know what they say, Location, Location, Location. I'm so glad that it worked out so well for you! And we're really happy to see that one wrong turn didn't turn the whole trip around for you. :)

If MIT is the choice for your family, hopefully we will be too!


Hope to see you again,
Kimberly Zalanskas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
856 reviews
Kendall Hotel
#1 of 20 in Cambridge
944 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
1,652 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Marlowe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Marlowe Hotel

Property: Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
Address: 25 Edwin H. Land Blvd, Cambridge, MA 02141-2236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Business Hotel in Cambridge
#1 Green Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Family Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Marlowe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonderfully eclectic and luxurious Kimpton Marlowe Hotel is perfectly situated minutes from Harvard Square and the MIT campus in Cambridge. The waterfront location offers guestroom views of the park-lined Charles River and Boston skyline. This unique boutique hotel further sets itself apart with unsurpassed service, superb amenities and educational and cultural programs. It celebrates and reflects the vibrant sense of discovery that is quintessential Cambridge. Adjacent is the award-winning Bambara restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Marlowe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marlowe Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing