We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kendall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kendall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

The Kendal is a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of Cambridge near MIT. The hotel itself is clean and well maintained and decorated with an antique or colonial flair. This was our first time staying at the hotel and I would return based on my first visit.

The hotel location is very good. We were originally trying to stay closer to the North End and worried that this location would make it difficult to get to attractions but it was no problem. We bought a weekly Charlie Ticket for unlimited access to the subway and bus system in the city and also used the Trolly to get around several days.

My wife and I stayed on the top floor (room 709). The room had vaulted ceilings, which was nice because it only had one small window (no view) that was too high for us to see out of. It gave the room the feeling of converted attic or loft. After peaking in on a couple of other rooms I think ours was the only one like this. It would have been nice to know about this prior to booking since the room was pretty expensive. Also on the 7th floor is the sunroom where there is free wine offered to guests early in the evening. This made the floor a bit noisy, but didn’t matter to us much since we were mostly on the go.

One negative was the shower. A large “rain shower” showerhead had been installed and there just wasn’t enough water pressure to do the thing justice. I like to shave in the shower and it would not even clean the shaving cream from my razor.

Many others have commented about the breakfast and I can vouch for it as well. There’s something to please everyone and the food was very good. I enjoyed the perfectly cooked bacon and the homemade granola to go with my yogurt. Another benefit to this hotel was the speed of the Internet connection. Each room has it’s own access point so connecting multiple gadgets was not problem. You do pay for these benefits with the hotel’s mandatory daily fee, but it is well worth it.

Room Tip: Use the subway, the MIT stop is just steps away from the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gexbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    207
    38
    21
    19
See reviews for
251
292
63
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Attractive hotel, very close to the T, great location, less expensive and much nicer than the two Marriotts nearby (but it isn't cheap!). Large room, large bathroom, nice linens and towels. Website does not note that there are robes provided. No safe in the room--an oversight on their part. Very good, included breakfast buffet. Pleasant staff, but check-in was very slow at 11 PM, even though I had alerted them in advance that I would check-in then. I had to wait several minutes for someone to appear after I rang the bell, and then the room rate was more than my confirmation. Apparently, this required a lengthy discussion with the manager in the other room, and all the paperwork had to be redone. Check-out was speedy and the clerk ordered a cab to take me to the airport, which appeared in three minutes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Location is excellent, near a T station. 2 stops one way to central boston and 2 stops the other way to Harvard. Yes the breakfast, especially the crispy bacon is to die for ! On return home great holiday marred slightly by shadow accounting which removed nearly the equivalent of the balance we had paid on check out from our account for about 3 days. The hotels accountant did respond promptly to our email but our money was lost in the ether for the 3 days before it suddenly came back into the account.
We would go back to this hotel again and Boston but would use a credit card and not a debit card next time !

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and street side . Good view of all the MIT students going to college and mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishstew7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, New Hampshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Easy access to Rte 93 & T. Very clean & comfortable. Food is delicious. Staff is very helpful. Furniture accents with period furniture throughout. Bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was bountiful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdssinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keihi, HI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our first visit to the Cambridge area in fifteen years and wanted to stay in a hotel that represented some of the history of the area. After some research we discovered the Kendall Hotel. We were delighted with our choice and particularly pleased with the unique setting with the historic fire station as its entry and lobby. The room was generous in size and very nicely appointed with furnishings of a period long past, The experience left me spoiled because I no longer will look for the standard cookie cutter hotel but will seek out locations like the Kendall Hotel which leave a lasting memory to our travels. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e4sythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in The Kendall Hotel on our first visit to Boston. The rooms were so comfortable and decorated beautfully! Breakfast was included and was excellent, the hotel was very close to public transit. I recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Every room is different in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickMcabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous time at the Kendall Hotel! The suite is very well appointed and better than I imagined. It's very roomy and has a full kitchen the size of an apartment! The beds are comfortable and I slept like a rock. The staff from the front desk, Black Sheep restaurant and housekeeping were very friendly and professional. You can tell they are well trained...but also love working there.
Be sure to take some time to wander around the lobby and your floor to take notice of all the artwork and collectibles. Everything is so well thought out and nicely displayed. You can tell there was a lot of talent involved when designing and decorating this historic hotel!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a family and want a larger space...go for a suite on the top 2 floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phil_heather14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Royal Sonesta Boston
#4 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Charles Hotel
#3 of 20 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Boston Marriott Cambridge
#7 of 20 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel

Property: Kendall Hotel
Address: 350 Main St, Cambridge, MA 02142-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kendall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kendall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing