We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel, terrific location”
Review of Kendall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kendall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2011

The bed was a wee bit hard and they could use some new pillows, but that's the worst of this charming boutique hotel. The rooms are scrupulously clean, the staff is friendly and the location can't be beat for close access to all that makes the Cambridge/ Boston area great - you're just steps from the Red line and practically on MIT's campus. The free breakfast that came with the room was wonderful and the wine hour (not on weekends, so we missed that, we'll try it another time) looked like it would be worth going back to enjoy. Excellent hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PB_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (976)
There are newer reviews for Kendall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 977 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2011

If you're searching for all the amenities of a chain but need the ambiance of a bed & breakfast you'll be pleased with your stay at this historic hotel. The staff is there to make sure all your needs are met. A wonderful, real American style breakfast is served every morning. Only a few steps from the metro system and trolly service to Boston & Cambridge. We were very pleased with how clean it is. There is a small restaurant adjoining the lobby. The food was excellent. Looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

So much better than the big name hotel, the Kendall has character. It is big enough, 70+ rooms, but has a homey feel about. We were there for the week, MIT class, but the family came too to make it a vacation. The rooms were very clean, all new, but not huge. The Breakfast was very good, healthy food choices. The set up for breakfast, having to walk down steps, to the sit down area, while carrying unedged trays and watch two young kids was a bit of a struggle, many near accidents and lots of stress. The location is perfect, right by T stop, and MIT right beside you, Legal Seafood is across the road, not ideal for families but still nice. The Wine hour was very hit and miss, some staff were very unhelpful, "Red or White?, sorry we have no Red!" Some music up there would be nice.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yipeenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very good breakfast, but always the same... scrambled eggs, bacon, and pancakes.
Great hotel, more like a bed and breakfast.
Free internet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jerpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Kenall is a hotel built in, over and behind an old firehouse.The lobby decor is firehouse based, and there's a nice restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The rooms are very nicely furnished, with lots of colors....no muted tones here. Comfy bed, plenty of room, and cheaper than staying in Boston downtown.

The staff was helpful and couteous, and it's an easy walk to MIT and there's a Metro station (Red Line) right across the street and down the block.

Plus, if you want, it's a short walk over the Longfellow Bridge to Beacon Hill.

We'd stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajfsurvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend and absolutely loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms very comfortable, and breakfast was fresh and filling. It is one block from the T - very accessible from the airport and easy to get to anyplace in Boston. The hotel offers use of a fitness center nearby but we didn't have time to take advantage of it. Also there is a hosted wine hour for guests. This hotel is an excellent value, a very fun place, and is highly recommended - a welcome change from the big, impersonal chains.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed here on our anniversary while visiting friends in the Boston area. It was a wonderful choice. It is on the MIT campus, with a T station right there which provided very easy transportation to Boston or Cambridge. We parked our car in the hotel lot and never used it again.
The hotel is a converted fire station and is unique. It has many quirky details and folk art to represent itself before it was reincarnated. All was tasteful and charming. Our room had a king size bed and was on the top floor. It was comfortable and clean. I am always concerned about the comfort of the bed and this one was great.
Breakfast is included. It was a nice spread with everything I needed.
The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
All in all I thought this was a great find in the Boston area and will definitely stay here next time I come to Boston/Cambridge.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor in a great King size room close to the indoor patio
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sle93057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambridge
Kimpton Marlowe Hotel
#2 of 20 in Cambridge
2,002 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 84 in Boston
4,861 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel

Address: 350 Main St, Cambridge, MA 02142-1017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#2 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range: $200 - $919 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kendall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kendall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing