We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kendall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$319
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$261
$237
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charles Hotel(Cambridge)
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Sonesta Boston(Cambridge)
$354
$295
Sonesta Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$256
$236
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$174
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$355
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$254
$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$158
$134
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,053)
Filter reviews
1,053 results
Traveler rating
750
225
38
21
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
225
38
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe black sheepfire stationfire houseold firehouseacross the streetmit campusunique hotelbreakfast buffetcookie cutterchain hotelstop floorlegal seafoodyogurtwine hourdowntown bostonlongfellow bridgenew england
Filter
Updating list...
798 - 803 of 1,053 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This was such a pleasant surprise. The hotel is painted in such happy colors (maybe annoying to some), there's free wifi, free breakfast, free wine in the evenings, and it's across the street from the Kendall T station. Wow! The staff was always helpful and pleasant, the rooms were very clean and very well-maintained. Overall, a really nice place to make your home base for a Boston/Cambridge vacation. Only one downside: THE elevator. There is only one and it can take quite a while sometimes. We were on the 6th floor so using the stairs routinely after a day of walking all over Boston wasn't attractive. On the morning of checkout it was out of service, but back on line just in time for luggage shuttling. Whew!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denverdogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This was my second stay at the Kendall Hotel and I continue to be impressed.
If you like boutique hotels with a historic ambiance and furnishings then this is
a great choice.

My king room was spacious and nicely decorated/furnished. The breakfast
was generally very good, including fresh fruit and a daily selection of hot food
- in fact the only negatives were the bland coffee and poor selection of breads.

In terms of location the hotel is just two subway stops from Harvard Square and
Boston Common.

The hotel says that the rate includes breakfast and wifi but in fact they tag on a
daily "usage fee" of $7 to cover these. Note also that by default they add on $20
per day for parking, so if you don't have a car you'll need to ask them to remove this
from your bill.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank ballinora4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Dont fall on this trap!!! Except for the Brazilian staff, the hotel is the worst hotel I've ever been to!
Everything is too old, specially the matress!!! Older than the building ! Thus, if you are willing to sleep, choose another alternative. Too expensive only for the location. We complained, and the manager simpli ignored any request. Attention, it only looks like cozy.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bab_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed 4 nights recently. Somehow our flights weren't delayed at all and we wound up at The Kendall an hour before check-in. The room was ready so they let us in early. Our room had a ceiling fan, something we both appreciated.

The breakfast was good every morning. Scrambled eggs, pancakes, french toast, scones, yogurt, granola, cereals, juices, and fruit come to mind.

The hotel is very close to the Kendall/MIT station. This proved to be very convenient as we didn't take a single cab during the week we stayed. 2 stations up the red line is Harvard Square while 2 stops down puts you in downtown Boston. We even hoofed it over the bridge and down Charles St all the way to Boston Common one pleasant morning.

The only real negatives didn't exactly ruin the trip. The beeping from trucks behind the Kendall proved to be a pain early in the morning. I used earplugs later and that solved the problem. The wireless internet connection was temperamental at best. The whole time of our visit, it would disconnect after 10-15 minutes, only to reconnect after 2-3 minutes. How odd to have such a technological problem in the shadows of MIT.

Our departing flight left at 5:30pm and the front desk cheerfully held our luggage until we picked it up at 3pm. They even used claim tags which I found reassuring. Overall a very good place to stay and I think the price was fair, considering what is charged in Boston.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaroldSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I and my wife stayed at the Kendall Hotel for 1 night, when visiting some friends in Boston. We were based in NYC and got to the city by train. Being for the first time in Boston, we didn’t want to get far from downtown and wanted to have a way to easily move around the city.
The Kendall Hotel is a very nice hotel, with a peculiar atmosphere. The building, an old firehouse, with its red bricks, is very beautiful. The interior shows a décor you won’t easily find in other hotels, and it gives an impression of a cozy, comforting place. The room is also nice. We got the 709. Delicious breakfast was a plus, as well as the free wifi. Though the hotel is located in Cambridge, by taking the T, which nearest station is just one block far, you can easily go to Boston. To the other side you reach Harvard Square.
Overall we felt very sorry when we left the hotel and the city. Though Boston is expensive, we’ll definitely get back to enjoy more of this lovely city and for sure will stay at the Kendall.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boccato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews